☮ A Peace Offering from the Squirrels? Growing Peanuts in Containers 🥜

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

Over the years I have started to "strongly dislike" those fuzzy little bastards. As every gardener trying to grow your own food at home knows, even the cutest of critters become Enemy #1 when it comes to defending your crops.

We can all agree that squirrels are cute, butterflies are beautiful, king anoles look bad-ass, but as soon as they wander into my garden - it's WAR!

I have had a long standing battle with the squirrels ever since I started growing food here, they are smart, sneaky, and really aggravating. They dig up the plants trying to bury acorns, chew at the base of stems and stalks just for a few drops of sweet sap that then kills the whole plant, and of course steal tomatoes and strawberries. Part of the problem is I know some of the neighbors feed them crackers and bread. I would see them run along the top of our fences with full slices of bread or a mouth full of crackers. Like REALLY?!

What to do? At first you "shoo" them away, then you chase them, then you toss things at them to scare them, then they learn to ignore you and call out that annoying territorial alert noise they make while almost daring you to come at them. That's okay... I have a long distance weapon - THE HOSE! As it turns out, squirrels hate being wet and/or being sprayed in the face by the hose. So over time, and many hosings, they have learned to stay clear of my gardens - at least when they see me or think I am around. :-) I don't want to really hurt them, so this was the best solution and it seems to have worked.

Sorry-Squirrel.jpg
I have my suspicions.

This morning my son asked me what I was growing in the small pot we have sitting in the front garden as we were leaving to bring him to camp. "Nothing", I said. As I turned to look I noticed there actually was something growing and I had no idea what it was. As I showed a few days ago, my front garden is empty waiting on new plants and as of August 6, there was nothing growing in this pot. I told him I didn't know and that I would check it out later in the day.

Peanuts-1-SteemPowerGarden.jpg
"Empty" pots that I grew Red Chard in last season.

This afternoon I remembered I needed to investigate what was growing in the pot out front. I did not recognize the leaves as anything I grew in the past to be from left over seeds or root sprouts. I gently dug down to see what the root and seed looked like and what do ya know... it's a peanut.

My automatic response was a like a scene from "Seinfeld" when he suspected Newman was involved... clinching my first - "Squirrels!"

Peanuts-2-SteemPowerGarden.jpg
Yep, it's a peanut shell buried in there.

For an instant I was irritated, then I thought to myself, well I've never grown peanuts before, this could be interesting to see what happens. So I quickly did some research on growing peanuts and as it turns out they are perfect for where I live.

Peanuts are a tropical plant (didn't know that), that like loose well-drained soil, they handle drought and heat well, and don't require much in the way of additional fertilizers as they grow. The time to harvest is 90-110 days and the indication that the peanut pods are developing is the time they are producing their little yellow flowers. Once the leaves and stems start to yellow and die back, it's time to harvest. (So says Wikipedia and BalconyGardenWeb.com)

Peanuts-3-SteemPowerGarden.jpg
Peanuts plant as of August 9, 2017 - 4PM EST

So there you have it. Perhaps the squirrels have made me a peace offering with the gift of peanuts, yeah probably not. I'm sure I will have to defend my new peanut crop from them in the next few months as they try to take back what they think is theirs. Such is the never-ending cycle of gardening life. But I'm happy to see how this works out.

I hope you will follow along with this new and unplanned adventure in growing peanuts at home.

The squirrel and peanut images I got from wiki, and put it together with my sunset sky photo and peace image.



If you have any questions or comments, just drop a reply below.

As always, please upvote this post and follow me if you like my work and want to see more.

If you think others will enjoy this Please ReSteem it!


Thanks for reading, now get out there and get GROWING!

Sort:  

I smiled the whole time I was reading this. It is certainly fit for a Seinfeld episode. Thank you for sharing and I'll be curious how the peanuts do.

My former city slicker neighbor turned tractor loving redneck planted peanuts a few years ago and expected great things. Then he forgot to weed his garden, water it or even try to harvest it:) Turns out gardening is a lot of work and commitment including keeping the squirrels, birds and deer from eating and/or destroying all that was put into shepherding those plants to harvest...

resteemed. upvoted.

Thank you for the support @morseke1 :-) It's a non-stop escalation with the critters. I am eager to see how the peanuts do as well. I had never even thought about growing them before. Hopefully i will get them before the squirrels come by to take them back. lol

Such a lovely peace offering :)

:-) yeah - they owed me LOL

Thats pretty cool when you think about it. The squirrels seem to know you grow things, and think you grow them for them, so they said we like these now grow them.

So true! - In the end I might be the sucker growing what they want and they will come grab them before I can. LOL

Wish the squirrels here would bring me gifts of peanuts. They just keep stealing crops and bothering the chickens.

LOL - They are pesky little critters. Hopefully they let me keep what comes from them.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by steempowergarden from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

This post has received a 0.63 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Congratulations @steempowergarden! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Another brilliant articles. There are so many interesting moments starting to inspire me. Very exciting for me. I wish you the best of luck, also wait for an interesting thought from you! I wait for new articles!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60991.51
ETH 3361.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48