Time To Play with Soil - My Homestead

in #gardening6 years ago

Its been a year since I last played with soil. Now the time has came again to have myself get bit dirty again.

So those who are aware and to tjose who are not. I have a small garden in my backyard. Which we use to produce vegetable self consumption...yesss..wevare not into sellling yet.

image

As you see my backyard is full of mango tress. We have 8 difderent variety of mango trees. After this year rainfall, all my backyard was covered with unwanted weeds and grasses. So first tough task was to get rid of those and plough up the soil to sow some vegetables. With the help of a localites, I manage to clear my garden and plough up the soil with manual spade.

image

Thanks to the guy at the extreme end, who helped me a lot with my work. Getting the entire area cleaned and ploughing up is not been possible without the guy. He also manages to make different section in the soil for sowing different vegetables. And we are ready with our first sapling of the year.

image

We started with planting Green Chilies, that is the one which is easily available. We choose two soil partition for growing chillies, with tye help of a rod, we made few holes in the soil at equal distances. Then we sow these sapling on each of the hole one by one.

image

In other sections we sowed, Peas, Spinach , Black Grams. And few are still vacant to plant, Tomatoes, Brinjal and Cauliflower. We are waiting to get plant sapling by tomorrow to get them planted . I will definately bring the update later on as these take some shapes.

I spent my entire sunday in my backyard for my Homestead Farming. Pretty much enjoyed playing with soil. Though I have not managed entire photographs as I was quite enjoying playing with Soil. What would be better #sublimesunday than this. Hope you all enjoyed it too.

Stay Calm....

Keep Steeming...Steem On !!!


Vote for Witness I have given mine to,
@firepower , @enginewitty, @blocktrades , @gtg , @abit, @fulltimegeek , @utopian.io @bobinson, @jatinhota, @curie, @adsactly-witness, @therealwolf @patrice @reggaemuffin @c0ff33a @thekitchenfairy @drakos @roelandp @good-karma @yabapmatt @partiko @steemcommunity @qurator are in my list.


Namaste from @steemflow

STEEMFLOW.gif
image
...........................................

Steemit Bloggers
..............................................

Sort:  

Hi @steemflow!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.801 which ranks you at #4625 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 3 places in the last three days (old rank 4622).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 241 contributions, your post is ranked at #45.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Nothing is more rewarding that working in the garden and prepping it for all the awesomeness that will be soon to come! It sure looks like you worked hard @steemflow.... excellent exercise too haha :)

...How lucky you are to have mangoes at your disposal! I am SUPER jealous!!! haha

Hahahah.....lets make a deal...i wil send sample mangoes to you ..next year 😜.....
Working in own yard is alwsy exciting especially when you indulge yourself in it....quite a hectic one as it takes a lot of till on our body...you cant velive by after noon it was look...just get into bed right away....but thanks to that guy who helped me a lot....finally go the things in place....btw i have few papaya and guava trees as well.😉...heheh...

Posted using Partiko Android

You have done a great job today, having a garden is a right choice.

Thanks @oluwashinaayomi its god to indulge in these with tye avaioable resources to have suffient yeil for home use.

Posted using Partiko Android

Lovely spread of vegetables and fruit in your garden, good luck with a wonderful harvest this year @steemflow

Thanks @joanstewart it is always good to have home grown vegetable. And it also make proper use of the available space. .....

Posted using Partiko Android

For spinach the temperature in your area is good ? I had tried to have them in kerala and it didn’t really work well ... I think spinach is a good choice in our area as it’s quite rare here and can be sold as exotic vegetable

Posted using Partiko iOS

Last year we had it inn our garden...in coming months...the local vendors use to sell spinach at very low price due to sufficient availiability..so i think temperarure is good. ....we do not farm for selling but yes quite enjoy growing them farm

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice work.

Gardening has been my newfound hobby since early this year.

Props.

Namaste, JaiChai

Yes thats true..it becomes a well known engaging thing among everywhere. Even i have seen among big corporstes and richer people just for sake of organic products ...many of them started to make use of own farm.....good for them...it is a good pass time as well

Posted using Partiko Android

Hard work always pays off. I am sure you will have an excellent harvest 😊

Hoping for it @starjewel.... We have big trees around the boundary wall and outside as well....so lack of sunlight may spoil many prodices

Posted using Partiko Android

Awesome to see that you’re back out in the earth and growing! I would love if mango trees could grow in my climate - what a neat tree to have in your backyard!

Ahhhh thanks @lilyraabe its always good to get myself dirty with soil. I enjoy it a lot whenever get time.....i have my part this time...let hope to get some good yeild out of it. ...if you see here...mango and guava is common in every home...the local small varieties are easily available everywhere...

Thanks the lovely comment....steem on 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

I really hope the garden turns out well. Nice that you got some help and got all that done

Thanks @stever82 i have done my part let se..how much nature will give us back....will get to know in few months..hopefully get the love back.....steem on

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54642.70
ETH 2317.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33