It’s Beginning to Look a Bit Like ChristmassteemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardening8 years ago

When I moved to Ecuador in mid-November almost six years ago, I was astonished to find higher-than-our-head poinsettias with bright red leaves on top. I thought of poinsettia as the potted plant sold in the millions at Christmas.


We have several poinsettias in our garden here in the highlands of Guatemala, so this year I get to watch the process of green turning to red. Some of the poinsettias are already turning red on the top-most leaves; others are lagging slightly behind.

My husband says I should note that I am short. The poinsettia shown in the top photo is about seven feet tall; this one looks down on it.

I can’t wait to take more photos as Christmas approaches. I hope Santa brings me a better camera.

Follow me on Steemit and Twitter.

Sort:  

They are very pretty! I love poinsettias.

I feel very lucky to live on a property with a big garden--and a talented gardener!

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66239.71
ETH 3448.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61