Sort:  

Thanks for the compliment, @smithlabs. Yep, the habitat will improve greatly with a thick covering of mulch and occasional sprinklings of water.

Toad probably did not even notice but it does have a decent rock home now!

Toads are cute, and eat bugs; I would have done the same thing. You do make a lot of good habitat, both accidentally and on purpose,so don't worry, it is a net gain!

:)

Yep, the new bed is going to be a good place for critters. The sprinkler system keeps it nicely moist while everything around it is baked rock-hard. After I gar 4 or 5 inches of grass and leaf clipping on it, it will begin to hum with happiness!

I keep checking on the photo of Merrick and Lincoln. Love it!

You were right on the dogsofsteemit, they really liked it too, ROFLOL! They gave it some kind of award, so they thought it was too cute.

I like the page, and will keep posting on it, thanks!

I could tell this was going to be a good habitat, you will get a lot of nice bugs here! I have a friend who lays a sheet of plywood on the ground for a week or more. Then he flips it over, and when he walks over to that plywood, his chickens come running for the treat.

:D

Told ya so!

I like the plywood idea. It sure doesn't take long around here to draw a crowd of critters!

Do you have chickens? I've been debating on whether or not I should get some (again). Used to have a dozen buff orpingtons and then the raccoons and foxes whittled them down to extinct.

Not out on the land we bought yet, but once there, I may try quail. They have eggs that are smaller, but I understand that they are a little more wary than chickens, and they are hard on ticks.

They are also supposed to be quiet (which helps with foxes) and low profile for SHTF conditions.

You need to shoot some raccoons and foxes!

>:(

I can't even raise turnips without something trying to eat them!

Above or below the ground? I have a friend who buried wire under his root crops to keep out moles.

Above ground thief, cage them. I use a Gamo pellet rifle for pests, because right now I am in the burbs.

:'(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61572.53
ETH 2995.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73