You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Micro-Climates - Growing Veggies in What Ever Space You Can Find - Welcome to My July Garden

in #gardening6 years ago

Thanks for joining, @porters.
Your garden plots look so amazing! You've got something very beautiful going on there.

May I ask where you are from? I looked up Boreal Forest, and got results in both Canada and Sweden, so I'm a bit confused :0)
It looks though you are still early in the season, or am I mistaking?

Sort:  

I live in northern Saskatchewan, Canada. It is a zone 2 garden so everything comes a bit later in the season. Our usual planting out date or expected last frost is June 7th

That's indeed almost a month later than our average last frost date. So you probably have a shorter growing season too...

Yes we have a shorter growing season so I'm always looking for ways to extend that growing season - my biggest ways is with row covers and my covered garden. Also I bring in alot of my tender plants to the sun room to finish off the harvest.

The shorter the season you have, the more creative you should be, lol.
I bought myself a heated propagagor with built-in growin lights last year, so I could start sowing earlier and my plants would already have a bit of a decent size when I would plant them out in spring.

It sure makes a big difference when you can get a jump on the growing season. I grow some veggies in containers and pull them into the sun room in late fall to extend the time I have to harvest them. Also I bought some LED grow lights to do some growing indoors in our sun room. I have to supplement with light for the sun doesn't come over the tree tops in the winter.

Sounds we both like to stretch the growing season as long as we can :0)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58833.91
ETH 3155.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44