Micro-Climates - Growing Veggies in What Ever Space You Can Find - Welcome to My July Garden

in #gardening6 years ago (edited)

Living in the Boreal forest I've found it necessary to make use of small garden plots spaced in different openings in the forest through out our property. This is my entry for the July edition of the SteemIt Community Garden Journal Challenge. #gardenjournal2018
Come and join me for a quick tour of my garden.
As I step out my door I keep my herbs close by on the deck for handy picking plus it is one of the warmest sunniest spots.
Bruno sitting by basil on deck.JPG
That's my dog Bruno

coleus taro and herb pot on deck by apple tree.JPG
The taro and coleus were gifts from my daughter-in-law who had been helping out at the university greenhouses. I'll be taking it into the sun room for the winter and see if I can get some roots worth harvesting in the Taro. Our apple tree is putting on a nice crop of apples this year. Can't wait for the harvest - they are so sweet!

figs on tree in sun room best.JPG
Inside the sun room we're getting a nice crop of figs.

garden in micro climate south side of house.JPG
Outside the sun room, on the south side of the house, I've planted some heat loving plants in containers that I will bring into the sun room for the winter to continue the harvest.

overall view of new apple tree greens garden and covered garden.JPG
Here's an over view of our side yard with the new apple tree planting by the comfrey, the greens garden and the covered garden. (sorry about the sideways view)

flowering cucumber celery and potato planting.JPG
Inside the covered garden I have a few cucumbers in the front, some peppers, theses were some that I got at a reduced price for end of the season for selling bedding plants, my celery and some potatoes that I threw into an open space the first part of July. They were sprouting in the root cellar so I decided to put them in this empty space in the covered garden where I could extend the growing season and hopefully get a harvest off them. They are growing good so far.

inside covered garden with tomato plants strung up.JPG
Inside the covered garden I mostly have tomatoes to extend the growing season for them and keep the moisture off them so they don't get black spot on their leaves or blight with the cool moist weather we have here. I've attached them to strings attached to slates that I can hit to vibrate the plants and pollinate the tomato flowers. I prune the leaves right back, so their energy can go into producing tomatoes not leaves.

over view of middle garden.JPG
Over view of the middle garden where I grow arugula, beans, Swiss chard, beets peas, green onions, broccoli, cabbage, kale, cucumbers and squashes.

acorn squash and broad view of middle garden.JPG
The acorn squash is starting to set some fruit but the cucumbers aren't doing so well. I think I have to enrich the soil some more for next year.

good heads of broccolli and cabbage starting to head.JPG
The broccoli is putting on good heads, we've already eaten a few of them and the cabbages are starting to form their heads. I had put some row cover over all the cabbages for late frost protection and to keep the cabbage butterflies from laying eggs on them (see the white cloth on the plants in the previous picture, that is the row cover, now on just a few of the cabbage plants.) The cabbage seedlings were stretching a bit and not forming good heads so I took it off theses and just left it on a few that the growth was more advanced on.

peas flowering and starting to pod.JPG
The peas are flowering and just starting to pod. I'm trying an new variety that is self supporting and suppose to be very productive called Canoe

Swiss chard with beans starting to flower in background.JPG
We've been eating some of the Swiss chard and the beans are now starting to flower.

raspberries ready for first picking.JPG
My last picture is of the raspberry patch ready for the first picking. It looks like it's going to be a good year for raspberries. M-m-m raspberries and cream!

Sort:  

Thanks for joining, @porters.
Your garden plots look so amazing! You've got something very beautiful going on there.

May I ask where you are from? I looked up Boreal Forest, and got results in both Canada and Sweden, so I'm a bit confused :0)
It looks though you are still early in the season, or am I mistaking?

I live in northern Saskatchewan, Canada. It is a zone 2 garden so everything comes a bit later in the season. Our usual planting out date or expected last frost is June 7th

That's indeed almost a month later than our average last frost date. So you probably have a shorter growing season too...

Yes we have a shorter growing season so I'm always looking for ways to extend that growing season - my biggest ways is with row covers and my covered garden. Also I bring in alot of my tender plants to the sun room to finish off the harvest.

The shorter the season you have, the more creative you should be, lol.
I bought myself a heated propagagor with built-in growin lights last year, so I could start sowing earlier and my plants would already have a bit of a decent size when I would plant them out in spring.

It sure makes a big difference when you can get a jump on the growing season. I grow some veggies in containers and pull them into the sun room in late fall to extend the time I have to harvest them. Also I bought some LED grow lights to do some growing indoors in our sun room. I have to supplement with light for the sun doesn't come over the tree tops in the winter.

Sounds we both like to stretch the growing season as long as we can :0)

Wow! Nice use of space. That is alot of veg! I love the acorn squash! All of this would be great under the tag #ghsc ! Be well.


Global Homestead Collective Come join us on discord! https://discord.gg/KCYH4JX7

I'm pretty new to Steemit but I have been noticing Global Homestead Collective. I never knew how to join and the invitation you put up on discord says it is invalid. Could you resend that link to join you on Discord. Thank you! I'm glad you like my post.

I just updated my tags to include #ghsc

Wow what a fertile and abundant garden you have. You clearly love what you do. It's so rewarding having so much produce just at our doorsteps.

I do feel blessed to have such abundance. I hope it inspires more to garden and have the rewards of having abundant fresh foods.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44