You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Garden Update - June 2019 ~ About cute birds, compost cats and exploding cabbage

in #gardening5 years ago

Looking good!

As I'm not using pesticides on growing fruits, there's no way of stopping this infestation

Have you read my recent post about neem oil? Purely organic and works perfect.
I often combine it with my homemade garlic spray. Read here

Neem Oil - A Must-Have For Every Organic Gardener

Sort:  

I'm pretty sure we actually have some neem oil in the basement. Right now the ladybugs are feasting on 'em and I'm pretty sure it's best to not interfere and let nature take care of it.

Posted using Partiko Android

I agree. If you have ladybugs, they will probably take care of the job.

We don't have so many over here, so I ordered some ladybug larvae online to solve the problem.
But there's a huge ant colony living in my greenhouse, and they protect the aphids against the larvae, so the ones I ordered will be extinct before they can get to work.

I have tried everything I could find to get rid of the ants, but nothing seems to work. A very strong neem oil spray worked... for a day. The day after, they were running around again. They're literally everywhere.. They drive me crazy

Ants can be troublesome. The flying reproductives are appearing inside my home now

Ouch.. inside your home? I don't like them in the garden, but I would hate it if they would be inside

I like native ants but I feel like they get weeded out by the naturalized and more pugnacious pavement ants.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57849.42
ETH 3122.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43