You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The pros and cons of building raised garden beds from concrete blocks

in #gardening7 years ago

A couple of months ago I did a post about growing potatoes in cinder blocks. https://steemit.com/gardening/@simms50/cinder-block-potatoes
I have done this a couple of years now and what I have found is that I needed more water for these potatoes than the ones that were grown in the ground. I will be growing more potatoes next year, but I will be sure to give them more water than what I did this year. Thanks for posting and sharing!

Sort:  

I guess part of that has to do with how much rainfall you get at which part of the growing season. Since our drought broke a few years ago, I had to enlarge the drain holes on the one that sits on the side patio. It was staying far too wet. The others did just fine. My biggest reason for like these is I can sit on them while I work. My back loves it, lol. Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

simms50: Unless you till the soil in your ground, it will be compacted and will not have much drainage. Tillage should be done once a year. Raised beds depending on the soil used will always require more water than in-ground beds; this is why you should use some sort of mulch to keep the raised bed from drying out. Source: http://extension.uga.edu/publications/detail.html?number=C1027-3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57856.68
ETH 2352.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43