SILIŅI. I need gardeners advice. Planing out our territory.

in #gardening6 years ago
Winter is the time when to plan what to do in the future/spring/summer. So I decided to finally put on paper what I had in my head for all this time. I already contacted Sean Dembrosky from Edible Acres. I've been watching his videos on YT for a long time. But I would like hear some other people opinions on this topic as well. So if you're a gardener/homesteader or simple have any valuable information - please leave it in the comments. Or shear it with your friends.

1.jpg

Our territory is about 0.6313 ha = 1.5567 acres, and I divided it into 5 smaller areas. And today we will be looking at the first one. It's about 16x24 meters / 52x78 feet.
3.jpg

2.jpg

Our property is right next to the road and for many years there where growing lilacs. It worked as a fence. They where really old and overgrown. I cut them down and we pulled out most of the stumps / roots, but still, there are some roots in the ground and new shoots are coming out. My uncle wanted to give me roundup to kill them off, but we said NO. I rather pull them out one by one with my hands. And that's what I did - you can still see a pile of roots that I dig out. My plan was to plant [starting from the north] in row's Spruce's [to give us some wind [we live quite close to the Gulf of Riga and northen winds can be quite rough] and noise [the main road is just some 20 /30 meters away] protection, and they could work as a fence as well], then some apples / cherry / pear [depending which ones go better together with the given environment] and then black currant/gooseberries and a litlle bit of quince. I divided the area into some smaller zones. I don't know how much space every individual plant needs - the measures are quite rough. I guess it's around 3 meters = 9 feet for trees and 1,5 meters = 5 feet of berry bushes.

IMG_20180302_123813.jpg

As I wrote before, we have some pretty bad soil - it's basically sand. My plan was to bury a lot of old / rotten logs from the forest [we have a piece of forest - rotten trees is not a proplem] and plant stuff on top of them - I guess it's called hugel method. At first, I had an idea that they could rise a little bit above ground level [that way it would be easier to pick berries], but then I had doubt's about keeping them moist. If they are above ground all water is going to run off. So I think everything is going to be ground level.
I talked to a local lumber mill and I could get some sawdust from them. I could use it later on together with leaf compost to keep the soil nutritional rich. And since we live close to the "sea" - in autumn we can get a lot of seaweed. I think that should do the trick.

Some specific questions that I have problems with:
How much space does spruce / apples / berries need? [I guess it's around 3 meters = 9 feet for trees and 1,5 meters = 5 feet for berries]
How much sun do they need? Do they need any shade at all? [It's an open area and there is no shade - I guess that's good]
Does any old rotting tree work for the hugel method? Which ones are better? Should I avoid any species? What about Ph levels? - some friend told me that these trees might not work because the Ph level in the forest is different. [I don't think it's that bad - I'm not taking home peat it self]

This is my initial plan. I already brought home from the forest some old logs that I plan to bury when the snow melts and then plant some blackcurrant on top of them. I still need to find some info and place where to buy gooseberry plants, and raise some money for it as well. I'm planning to make wine out of them so I need to figure which ones are going to suit me better.

Sort:  

I really like your planning! I wish I had some advice for you, but I'm just learning myself. @ironshield

same thing here. Good thing there is an internet, a? :D

For recovery of the sandy soil have you considered planting lavender plants, and goji berries. They will help restructure the soil for you. Also coffee grinds mixed into nutrient depleted soil provides a quick boost for getting plants to root. =)

I'm just now starting to gather information about the best ways.
I got one goji berry bush as a gift last year. Let's see how it did throu the winter.
What do you think about hugelkulture method? Any sugestions?

I have seen people using the hugelkulture method and I think it is very interesting. My self I use raised beds and planter and have never tried to grow using the large mounds. I bet it works great, especially for any tubers like potatoes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29