The Figs Are Ripe!!!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

Good day, Steemians!


Have you ever had a fresh fig? I hadn't, until I came to the @gardenofeden ecovillage.



Now, the bountiful fig harvest is one of my favorite features of summertime here!



We're blessed with 4 healthy fig trees that produce pounds of fruit each day! Did you know that the flowers are actually all those little squiggly bits INSIDE the fruit? Or that some varieties of figs are pollinated by wasps?? 



I like to pick them--mostly so I can eat as many as I want 😋 , but also because it's best done around sunset. I get to soak up the fresh air and beautiful light, and being around plants is always lovely and magical. Plus, I'm one of the only ones here tall enough to get the fruits on the highest branches, and everyone is happy to enjoy the fruits of my labor! 



There's something really romantic about fig trees to me! Humans have been harvesting sweet, juicy, plump figs at this time of year throughout recorded history; I nerd out hard on the circadian cycle that ties us all together. It feels timeless under those trees, and I could just as easily be in ancient Mesopotamia as Texas. 



Not to mention the symbolism of figs...did you know that the fig tree is the 3rd tree mentioned in the Bible and the Talmud, after the Tree of Life and the Tree of Knowledge of Good and Evil? It's said that Adam and Eve made some loincloths out of fig leaves after eating from the Tree of Knowledge. I'm not Christian or Jewish, but that's roots for a whole lot of people! 

And have you ever heard of "giving the fig"? It's a Middle English insult done with a hand gesture, kinda like flipping someone off. 

Anyhoo, these are some things that go through my mind while I'm plucking squishy little figs off the tree. 











💛 Sara!
Thanks to my fig-picking buddy, the fairy @everlove for the photos & video with me in it.
Sort:  

Love fresh figs and we make Fig jam to enjoy them out of season.

Mmmmm, so yummy! We make jams and preserves as well. Figs are absolutely decadent!

It looks like a magical moment for you @saramiller I love fresh figs and dates, they are sugar in your mouth.

Truly!

Indeed, they are nature's candy!

Yum! I like them baked with goats cheese and a bit of honey!

OMG!!!!!!!!
That is my kind of food!
I like you even more now hehe

I think they would bake well in a cob oven!

Mmmmmmmm yea some fig, ricotta cheese, honey torte! Baked in the wood burning earthen oven! Mmmmmmmmm Maybe a lil rosemary on there!
OMG

I'm thinking thyme.

Ok =)>

Full on royal treatment :)

Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

Mmmmm...let's share some of that. Some tea or a glass of wine? We've got this down!!

Wine! Tea and figs?

All of that...and more!!

Yummy! How long would it take me to get to Texas? I fancy some supper!

Depends on your mode of transport!!! Can you teleport yet?

You have surely had a great moment while picking and eating these super delicious figs! I just love figs! This is during my last visit to Morocco, the amount of figs i saw selling by the road was just amazing!

Never seen so much in my country! And so expensive here!

IMG_6489.JPG

Thanks
@progressivechef

That is an incredible cart of figs!! The green and purple look so lovely together. We have 4 trees, but only one variety of figs. Thanks for sharing, @progressivechef!

Oh yes I was in a shock state when I saw this! So beautiful indeed! In Mauritius we have only the green variety though!
Thanks dear
Cheers

Ooooooo---I LOVE THAT!!!

It's really very beautiful and attractive!
Thank you!

interesting
I never saw that fruit. taste good ?

There are few if ANY fruits that taste better than a perfect fig!

One of my favorites!

I like them sun dried, then place a nut or an almond inside the fig and enjoy!

I do too, dried figs are nice and chewy and super concentrated flavor! Fresh figs are a totally different experience. Every now and then I'll find one that has dried on the branch without turning moldy first. Those are a treat too!

@saramiller wow congratulation! :) It's super rewarding when you see that your tress (that you care so much) return a favor and give you delicious fruits :)
If you have a moment please review my beetroot soup recipe that I think may be interesting to you. It’s the best dish in the summertime and it's very healthy :) Cheers!

Thanks, @radzioha! It is very satisfying when the plants gift us yummy, healthful things to eat :)

@saramiller figs are too good for health and figs are one of the favourite foods of prophet (saw) PBUH and they are sunnah to eat.. you are great and thnks for shearing. @naseerbhat

Figs are definitely a blessing! Thanks for your comment, @naseerbhat!

Nice post. I just love fig preserves.

Yea, especially with bree cheese mmmmmmm

I am trying to grow figs in Nova Scotia, Canada. So far, only in my greenhouse but hopeful they will produce. I love fresh figs!!

will be difficult but it is possible!

Figs are definitely one of my favorite fruits of all time. And these are sooooooo delicious, nurtured by our own hands. I love that we have so much to do with so many figs and many ways to share them. Many people who come through the @gardenofeden have never had a fresh fig before. Fine memories being made together in the garden. Priceless!

Figs are one of the more luxurious fruits in my book, yet they just grow and grow and grow for free from the trees. Nature is so generous and thoughtful! Thanks for sharing, @everlove~*~

Figs are one of the highlights of life at the @gardenofeden. Truly amazing, fresh, delicious, nutritious food at our fingertips!! YES!!!!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63852.87
ETH 3135.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83