You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My 2018 Veggie Patch... I'm All Ready To Go, But Will It Ever Happen?

in #gardening7 years ago

Nice post. I think the strategy of forming a basic plan and then going with the flow enhances observation of your garden. Instead of focusing of the plan you are focused on the garden itself and can "learn". In the long run this makes you a stronger gardener.

Sort:  

Maybe, although i think people that are organised, having a complete plan, a seed sowing and harvesting calendar and all that stuff are less likely to fail. (but maybe not having a plan is more fun 🙃)
The plan I made (which I quickly colored in right before I posted it here - it was actually only black and white before), has only 1 goal: to remember where I planted things last year. The only action plan I have for this year is to not plant cabbages in the beds I planted cabbages last year, but that's about it.
Once again I'm growing a lot of fruits and veggies that are unknown to me, ánd I still don't have a clue where my tunnel hoop house will be - so everything else is just one big guess. We'll see.
I did keep a basic journal last year, though, to not make the same mistakes again.
For me personally, the 'trial and error' way is the best way to learn and to remember. When I saw my favorite plant, the beautiful Chayote die last year, just when it started to grow its fruits, I felt really bad. Meanwhile I found out that it actually shouldn't be planted in a greenhouse. That's something I'll never forget again :--)

Everyone has his own ways, I guess

(By the way, I'll not be posting again on this account - I've started a new one by the name of @simplymike. Feel free to follow me there)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59541.64
ETH 2637.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45