Grow Your Own Tobacco

in #gardening8 years ago (edited)

tobacco

Just in case the economy collapses tobacco and their seeds will become excellent trade and barter items. If this never happens, I am having a blast growing these beautiful plants. I'm growing 5 varieties besides the Red Russian. Warning, do not grow tobacco near your produce gardens. For some reason tobacco plants limit growth in other plants. I plant mine in a separate area far away from the gardens. I learned this from a blog on growing Native American Tobaccos called Rusticas. I have a few varieties of Rusticas and they are very vigorous growers and seed producers.

tobacco

The seedlings look like all my other tobacco seedlings. Green and tiny. However that will change once this plant flowers. Beautiful red flowers. The plant is a great ornamental as well as a good smoke. Leaves cure up tan to light reddish tan with a mild flavor. I bought mine from Sustainable Seed Co. As soon as seedlings are strong enough I will transplant into paper pots and plant the 1st of June after all chance of frost is gone.


some_text

tobacco

tobacco

tobacco

tobacco

Red Russian is an unclassified tobacco. It grows to around 3 feet in height and has very dark green leaves. It produces a fair amount of tobacco, but its most striking feature is its large magenta red flowers which contrast against the deep green leaves.

tobacco

Garden and Photographs are by Red Dust

Sort:  

This is awesome just gave you a big up vote :) Takes a lot to create a product like that. Im sure its exciting to be able to inhale a nice puff of fresh home grown tobacco! Sounds delicious! My mom grew it once when I was young she just did it to do it though didn't make anything of it though. Im gonna follow you please follow back :D

@jacobcards I will follow you, I've already checked you out, you have some cool posts. The curing is the hard part, I'm not that good, but I'll write up an article on how to cure tobacco at home. The plants are pretty and also make a great insecticide! Thank you so much!

Where do you get the seeds?

I posted the link just click the bottom paragraph word red Russian.

I've often thought about growing my own tobacco, especially since I live in Florida now. But I have no idea where to even look for seeds. For some reason I thought you had to be a certified and licensed grower for tobacco? And only because I just assumed. But I see your link and I'm definitely going to bookmark it! Thanks :)

I will be posting on the specifics of growing these plants. They are super easy to grow and the primative rusticas will go to seed and grow like weeds next spring. I start mine indoors, the seeds are really tiny, I've saved thousands in my seed bank. You can grow all you want, you can't sell the cured tobacco, which is as stupid (police state?) as making it illegal to grow and sell pot. Also smoking straight tobacco without a fragrant herb mix is a nasty taste, unless your an expert a curing. The rusticas (Native American ) will get you higher than a kite, their nicotine content is through the roof!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64724.35
ETH 3436.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55