You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Gardening On A Budget: How To Regrow Vegetables From Kitchen Scraps (FREE SBD GIVEAWAY!)

in #gardening6 years ago

I did iiit!! :) 3 Years ago I have regrown potatoes in a box I built from wood that was a fence before :).
I didn't cut the potatoes but used them whole as you can see here :
DSC_0313.JPG

Here is a better pic of the box 😉
DSC_0529.JPG

I don't know the weight of the used potatoes but the outcome was about 13 kg ...way more then used. And I guess it would have been more if this storm had not found his way into my garden. The plants were all bent over and no longer able to do photosynthesis. So I did harvest a bit too early. It was like searching for easter eggs - I loved it. They tasted sooo yummie.
kartzz.JPG
Short time after that I moved out of this house and garden and when I showed the garden to people who were interested in the house I wanted to ask them if they want to have the box so lazy me can just leave it. BUT what I actually asked (as a german living in the netherlands and on that time with poor dutch speaking) - I asked if they want the box where I had grown french fries in it🤣. ..lol. The Dutch word for french fries is Patat ..so it'similar to potatoes. I will never forget the look they gave me after I said this. :))

Sort:  

So they are probably still waiting for the patat to grow - lmao
Here in Belgium ‘patat’ means potato, so the problem wouldn’t occur.
But if I understand correctly, your potato experiment worked?
This is the first year I’m trying to grow them in my garden. So far, so good. The plants are growing very quickly. I’m really curious how it will turn out..

Yes it worked perfectly. I did plant them in a box because this way it was easier to replenish the soil always when the plants have grown a bit. That's how the patatjes ;) grow everywhere from the bottom to the top inside the box. I wish you good luck with your potatoes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52438.26
ETH 2303.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.05