★ How to: Grow Lemon Trees from Seeds (A Complete Step by Step Guide)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardening7 years ago

LEMON TREES.jpg

Today's Project Diary Video I will be showing you the best, quickest and most successful way to grow Lemon Trees from Seeds. This Video also includes a full 12 Weeks guide on how to treat your Plant if showing signs of Pest invasion and under/over watering issues.

I will walk you through each step from harvesting free seeds from a Lemon...

IMG_7712.jpg

To planting and germinating them...

IMG_7758.JPG

I also include how to troubleshoot the leaves to have an insight into the health of your plant and detect if it's being attacked by pests...

IMG_0761.JPG

Full links are available at the end of the Video.

★ IF YOU HAVE TRIED THIS OR ANY OTHER PROJECT DIARIES VIDEO AT HOME I'D LOVE TO SEE PHOTOS OF YOUR PROGRESS VIA MY FACEBOOK GARDENING GROUP: https://www.facebook.com/groups/projectdiariesHQ/

I'm hoping to make more Project Diaries Videos in the Future so please help me by Upvoting this Post, Sharing this Video link, Subscribe and clicking the thumbs up button via Youtube.

Please Subscribe/Share/Follow/Like

YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/projectdiariesHQ
Instagram: https://instagram.com/projectdiaries/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ProjectDiaries/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/Project_Diaries
Pinterest: https://uk.pinterest.com/projectdiaries/
Paypal Donations: https://www.paypal.me/projectdiaries

Thanks for taking the time to read my Post.

ENJOY!!

Check out the video link below.

Sort:  

Awesome! Sharing on our facebook homestead page so that people there will come here. Great article and pics!

That's great. Thank you for sharing and liking my article :)

I just started a seed from a Clementine tangerine and then I see your post here and think, AWESOME!
I'm not sure how my little 'orange' will do but I am planning on doing updates on steemit.
Thanks for sharing. I really found the post encouraging for myself.

@originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @projectdiaries to be original material and upvoted it!

OW2.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!
Do you like what @OriginalWorks does? Give it an upvote to support this project and keep it free!
For more information, Click Here!

You're welocme! I've also tried Oranges and Kumquats in the same way and all have grown well. Keep me updated on your success. Good luck :)

From seed, how long does it take for the plant / tree to produce fruit? I have two and I think there 2 years old. They are almost 3 feet tall.

Around 5 years but if the soil isn't nutritious enough the won't fruit at all. Well done for keeping them growing for 2 years :)

Thanks, I will be anxious wait 3 more years. It was easier than I thought. Have a nice day.

Grapefruit take a minimum of 10 years!! :O

Are citrus trees self-pollinating?

Not all of them. Most benefit from two trees growing close together

I there a way to tell? I just started these from seeds and I am not sure of their species, my best guess is that they are meyer lemons.

I'm sure there is but I grow from food waste so it's pot luck for me

It's it easy to damage the seed when you're peeling it?
Also, out of curiosity, are you growing them in the UK? If so, do you keep them in containers so you can bring them in for winter?

Yes, Yes and Yes! I actually start growing these indoors in the winter and take them outside late spring. It's been a tough year this year with all the wind and rain but they're still growing strong. Are you from the UK?

Yes. We're from the East Midlands. We came to Australia 9 years ago. I love that we can grow citrus outdoors here, but I'm still not doing very well at getting them to take. Your tips at the end could point to some possible problems though. We have incredibly dry summers and I probably need to get on top of the leaf miners quicker when they're saplings.

I'd love to move to Australia. Half my family moved there back in the 80s and I often go see them. i've lso done a video on treating Leaf Minor. I will post the link on here soon. glad i could help :)

Thank you for this useful post.Ilove lemon tree. I upvoted you and follow you.great

You're welcome and thank you for the follow and upvote. I will do the same in return :)

Brilliant thank you. I have some lemons in the kitchen. Will 100% give this a go!

Now is the perfect time to start them indoors. Let me know how you get on and if you need any more advice just give me a shout. Good luck! :)

I am jealous that you can grow this! In zone 6, I don't think they will make it so the best I can do is the organic ones from the store.

I actually started these on a very cold English Winter. Kept them indoors until we had good summer weather (Barely had one this year) and i'll over winter them again inside. You'll never know until you try... :)

My last lemon seeds didn't take at all, I may have overwater them! But I'm going to give it another go! Great article!

Thanks! It's very easy to overwater and rot a new Lemon seed. Citrus do not need that much water but try to keep the soil moist

I have a nice Meyer lemon tree that we use to make limoncello from and it is almost time to harvest the lemons now. It is good to meet another person who loves working in the garden.

I haven't tried making homemade Limoncello yet. I tried Meloncello for the first time last year and it was mindblowingly good. Great to meet you to :)

and you as well, my new friend

I tried this last year and it got to the stage in your picture, but then got my mom to babysit it and water it while I was on vacation and it died. LOL Upvoted and following

Oh no. I had the same problem with my Dad looking after the garden last year. Will you try it again?

Yes absolutely. It is one of my projects for the fall indoor gardening.

I think I look forward to Fall more than most other seasons. Such beautiful colours and SALES!! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67508.70
ETH 3753.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73