THIS IS SO AMAZING - I LOVE GRAFTING!

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

Such a blessing!


When we moved to Arkansas from Wisconsin, we left behind a plum tree that we really enjoyed. However, because of the amazing skill of grafting, we may not have really left it behind. Check out this video for more!

THE BLESSING OF GRAFTING VIDEO

FULL STORY

Before we moved to the Ozarks just over two years, we began to gravitate towards the homesteading lifestyle. When we began growing more of our own food and began to enjoy eating of our own harvest, we had one particular plum that was very delicious. After enjoying it for some time, we had to leave it behind. However, we didn't leave all of it behind when we sold the house.

I took a few dormant cuttings of the branches and brought them down to Arkansas with me. Just leaving cut off branches laying around for a few years would not work. Soon, the dormant branches would die and dry up. However, there are a lot of young wild plum trees growing down here. Though I had never tried grafting any trees before, I literally had nothing to lose, so I gave it a try.

Thankfully, I had about a 50% success rate with my first attempts at grafting, and now, over two years later, I have the same kind of plum that I left growing in Wisconsin growing here in Arkansas. Now, when we begin to plant our orchards down on our land, I'll have the same variety here that we once enjoyed in Wisconsin, from the same tree!

I hope that this encourages you to learn and try new things! Pretty my whole life these days is new and I am constantly learning, so if I can do it, so can you! Steem on!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-grafting

Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


GIF provided by @orelmely


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Grafting is so cool and it cuts down on the wait time to get your trees to fruit...

It sure does!

I have a professionally grafted Japanese plum tree, which originally had four varieties, but one broke off in a storm. Hopefully we're going to learn something about that in my permaculture class. http://sowpermaculture.org

hehe... i didn't know that you live at the Ozarks

it seems you are really good in grafting

n btw watch the movie Ozark

This is really something. Grafting is definitely a great way to revive a plant. Especially if you are trying to get good properties from two different species. Very nice method of keeping plants alive. Cheers!!

it will be really interesting to see if the fruit tastes the same or what sort of characteristics the soil and such impart.

Very cool! I want to do a lemon lime tree myself.

Good idea, I'm thinking of a mini key lime.

Great info about grafting. I had no idea how it worked. Also, great that you can preserve your old plum trees this way. I bet they'll be much happier down in Arkansas!

Grafting is always good but kinda risk, depend on atmosphere and it's very good especially when addicted to a particular fruit

God's really amazing...
How a whole new specie of the same plant can grow can by attaching the nodes.
Nice presentation @papa-pepper

useful science, worth trying, and this is a good post, thanks for sharing,@papa pepper

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63643.10
ETH 2582.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75