SAVING THE GARDEN - ONE LAST ATTEMPT BEFORE THE HARD FREEZE

in #gardening6 years ago

With the freeze coming, I had just hours to make my move.


Plants like Pitaya (Dragonfruit), GAC Fruit, and some Tamarillos were moved inside while the peppers and herbs were harvested one last time. In the end, I'll call it a success. It's a hard time of year to watch the garden die, but we saved what we could. Now, we wait for spring.

We moved what we could, and harvested what we could. Now, I've got a year to work on a geothermal greenhouse with a built in rocket mass heater... I'll get started as soon as I can.

SAVING THE GARDEN VIDEO

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-my-bathroom-jungle

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


Bitcoin (BTC) - 35jP794XJ1yHUaoxuQUXwGPyCuy6zyiQA5

Sort:  

Awesome man! Wow that is a lot of work to prep for the freeze. I don't have to do much work here. I do move my mango trees around to the other side of the house for the intense summer heat, then back to my patio for fall, winter, and spring. This also reminds me of the time I had an indoor hydroponics system in my kitchen nook of my house. I had lights on from 7am until 11pm. And they were bright! I think people may have thought I was growing weed in there. haha Ultimately I took the system down.

Big ups homie @papa-pepper. I thought Dragon Fruits only grew in Asia..

It seems a lot of people are growing them all over these days.

This is changing my entire perspective on 'indigenous'

Send invitations to Papa-Pepper Jungle House!😃🌱🌴🌳🌵🌲 You're a Plant Superhero!👍😄

Posted using Partiko Android

LOL - The bathroom is a jungle indeed!

Ahah😂 I hope there isn't many dangerous savage animals inside!🤣🦁

Posted using Partiko Android

Best things to do to save the fruit how are you doing papa and the family

That's awesome! Hopefully the transplanted ones will last that much longer and you'll get a little more harvest from them. Glad you were able to get a lot of it in!

Yeah, I hope I can replant them next year.

While we get really cold here in SA and our homestead has frost in the gardens and snow on the mountains it's not as cold us you. Good thing you're a diligent gardener tending that vulnerable plants @papa-pepper

Rocket mass heater... sounds like some kind of space vehicle. Any who have a garden always enjoy that harvesting, a time when we can celebrate... and eat the "fruits of our labor" sad as it is to see the end of our gardening because of the change of seasons, we look forward to the coming of spring to start all over... it's the "circle of life" :-)

Yup, at least we can begin again in the spring.

You are an amazing and inspirational homesteader. Saving plant from freeze is a nice idea.

in my case .. am worried my new green house isn't warm enough if it snows
some of my tropical plants dont seem to look very happy atm

That time of year. We just had our first snow this past Friday. :}

Sounds like we might get some tomorrow. How long is your sister and her husband around?

They leave on the 17th. Jebi and Abi leave around the same time.

We were busy with my folks in town this weekend, but we'd love to make a quick trip up.... I'll talk to @mama-pepper and see. I'll call up early this week.

Sounds like a plan. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54260.52
ETH 2284.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30