NO MORE TOMATO CAGES!!!

in #gardening6 years ago

This year, I'm finally done with these things.


In my opinion, they just do not really work. They are too small, too flimsy, and rust too quickly. I cover more in this video.

VLOG - THE END OF TOMATO CAGES

So, if I'm done with tomato cages, I'm sure that you may be wondering what my replacement will be. I've been experimenting for a few years now, and I'll be using cattle panels and other fencing.

I've tried weaving the plants as they grow, and it has worked out well in the previous years. Rather than trying to fight through the little cages, I'll be able to harvest the tomatoes in more of a two dimensional method, which should work just fine. Also, since the fencing isn't actually beneath the surface of the soil, it won't deteriorate as rapidly as the bottoms of the tomato cages.

This method worked pretty good last year, and I'm excited to continue to work on developing my technique this year. I'll keep you posted on how it works out! Thanks!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-being-done-with-those-inferior-cages

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

EECD8664-DAE8-4BC8-89B8-51FB2EF8A0BD.jpeg Thought you might like to see this Papa-p! Thats the founder of Goldmoney tweeting about you!
https://twitter.com/roysebag/status/999705569215774721?s=20

Got that shirt on right now!!!

Do you still have the same PO box my friend?

error 404

Yes, I do!

Keep your eyes open in the next week or so !!

Good reminder for me, I've got tons of mail to ship out!

You can never be caged!

NEVER!!! FREEDOM!!!!!!!!!

My grandmother grows tomatoes in her garden.

And, I can say that tomatoes from her garden taste 10 times better than the ones bought in the store.

They are sweeter and have a lot more taste.

Same can be said for her strawberries.

She brought me some yesterday.

Oh, the smell is the best.

The ones from the store don't even have the smell.

And, I can say that tomatoes from her garden taste 10 times better than the ones bought in the store.

I know exactly what you are saying.

Same can be said for her strawberries.

The @little-peppers just ate some fresh ones recently. I asked them if they tasted as good as the store-bought ones, and they just laughed!

Yes, homemade and bought and in store can't be compared.

Sure, homemade strawberries are smaller (atleast the ones from my grandma) and they don't look as good, but they are organic and taste a lot better.

By the way, you have really cute kids.

It seems like you're living pretty good life surrounded with your family, animals, and nature.

That has to be one of my dreams for sure.

To live without stress, and eat what I grow.

It is a nice life, and we rather enjoy it. Thank you!

Good call @papa-pepper...in fact that is what I am doing this year as well. Getting away from the typical cage and going with a panel! Looking forward to seeing your success!

Tomato cages are for the birds! They don't work worth a darn for me. Never have. But now, cattle panels...I have never seen them here. They look to be made from heavy gauge wire. Do you think I could manufacture my own cattle panels?

Well this just saved me a bunch of money next year :-)

I'll have to try your trick on my tomatoes next year (if I'm allowed to try and grow some more. It didn't go too well this year. We only got two tiny tomatoes off the plant before it died)

Cool is already thriving, soon this tomato will bear fruit,Tomatoes are very good for health, I like to eat raw tomatoes.

Oh yes, it is already set some small tomatoes!

Yes,I am excited to see all the plants in your garden.

tomato cages. my advice is to use a net from the rope over the wire again or a little twig. krn steel wire gives a different effect with wood on the plant.

Good advice! Thank you!

Amen... In the past i tried using fence posts and paracord but the cattle panels work so much better. Hog Panel will give you smaller squares if you are wanting to weave more.

Just say no to tomato cages! I hate the damn things, refuse to have anything to do with them. When you transplant, how much do you bury/leave above ground? I always bury almost the entire plant when I transplant (leave 2-3 inches sticking out) and tie that little bit to a sturdy stake and then let the plant spread as it wants. I know that's not always feasible but it sure makes for some massive/productive plants.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59368.30
ETH 2461.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45