GETTING READY TO GROW!

in #gardening6 years ago (edited)

Spring is coming gardeners!


I can't wait, but I'm still glad that I have more time. I've got seedlings to start, gardens to plan, and bins and bins of seeds to sort through. I should probably do a few germination tests too, and get a few grow lights set up.

LET'S GROW!

Like many gardeners, homesteaders, and other people all around the world, we too like to grow some of our own food. Not only is it much more cost effective than purchasing produce, but there is a certain rewarding aspect to it too. After all, you are truly reaping what you've sown. You are enjoying the fruit of your labor. Plus, you are getting a delicious, edible return on your investment, and there is certainly something to be said for that.

My journey into the world of gardening was slow, and it wasn't really until after I married @mama-pepper and we began having @little-peppers that I actually "dug in" and began seriously gardening. At first it was mostly just hot peppers, but soon I realized that I needed to grow something else for my family to eat, and we have been branching out ever since. Now, it has become part of our lifestyle, and growing our own organic, healthy edibles is part of what we do.

With the move from Wisconsin to Arkansas, there came a lot of adjustments. Now we are closer to the equator so we have hotter summers and milder winters. Just watching the plants begin to green up already is exciting, because soon we will be planting again. It always seems that there are more plants that I would like to grow than the ones that I actually do, and my seeds supplies testify to that.

With the move south, we have also been given an opportunity to grow some varieties of fruits and vegetables that just would make it up in Wisconsin, so part of our recent efforts have focused on exploring some of our new possibilities. We've enjoyed a few new plants and have some more on our list to try this year. While we like eating all sorts of things, it is the plants that produce the most and thrive the best that are most beneficial to grow.

WHAT ABOUT YOU?

For all of you gardeners out there, what are some of your favorite garden plants to grow. Some of our new favorites are the Chinese Red Noodle Bean and the Kiwano - AKA African Horned Jelly Melon. They have been such a blessing to us that we have recommended them to others for two years now and we even gave away a lot of free seeds.

For those of you who have not started gardening yet, I'll let you in on a secret. If you plant certain seeds, they'll give you food! I know it sounds simple, but that is the main reason that I garden. If we didn't end up with anything to eat, then I wouldn't bother. Around here we've certainly got mouths to feed, and gardening is our favorite way to do it!

I know that a lot of people may not have a lot of room, you should take a look at steemians like @future24. He gardens on his balcony in Germany and get's to enjoy harvesting his own plants. If you've got room for a pot, then you've got room for a garden, it just may not be a big garden. Personally, I'd at least suggest that you give it a try sometime. For us, it's worth it!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-seeds

Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


GIF provided by @orelmely


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

What is your whole garden portfolio once it’s in the ground @papa-pepper??
I had some big success planting jalapeños last summer. Made some stuffed jalapeños poppers, added them to burgers, and pickled most of the jalapeños to either enjoy on a sandwich or just eat with a fork.
Might want to think about adding some jalapeños if they’re not already in your aresenal. Delicious :)

)

this is very nice way @papa-pepper.
gardening is a very useful activity, me and my parents also se peasants, and also planters.
because gardening is very help us in everyday life.
thank you my brother has shared knowledge about how good gardening.

WhatsApp Image 2018-02-11 at 22.46.17 (1).jpeg

killer deal man. I'm having a go @ tobacco this season. ill let you know if it turns out ok.

Are you guys going to start an orchard? I know it takes a couple of years to start getting any fruit or nuts, but once they do it just skyrockets through the roof! If you are planning to start an orchard, make sure to plant away from the goats...they'll eat the bark off the trees and cause other damage. We learned that the hard way when I was a kid.

Love your post(s)...so...upvoted!



Note: This reply post is manually curated and not an automatic bot.

@papa-pepper

farmers smart, successful for farmers. we will reap the rewards of what we plant. hopefully your crops flourish and the results are profitable. quickly plant the seeds you already hold.

I love what you are doing. Cultivation really has a lot of advantages. Aside from the food gotten it is also beneficiary to the land itself. Carrying the whole family along with the activity is a good idea. Have fun cultivating.

my son has been begging for seeds for a while now and I got him some corn and pumpkin seeds. My favorite to grow is eggplant, I just think they are a beautiful plant, they have a really strong energy, I don't even eat most of them.

I'm in Maryland and over wintering a Rocoto pepper now in it's third year. I did get 50 small peppers last Summer, hopefully more when it get tree size.

Rocoto is so hot! It is also very versatile for spicing. You are doing well to make it grow successfully so far north.

I live in MN, gardening is months away. Best Wishes with your garden.

Spring is coming, gardeners...

(sorry :D )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 58576.55
ETH 2982.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71