Organic Gardening Update for Early June

in #gardening6 years ago

Tiny Garden Paradise.jpg
Tiny Garden Paradise

Oklahoma Heat Too Soon

In spite of the fact that the Oklahoma heat has hit us much too early, and that there has not been enough rain, so far everything is doing well in my tiny garden paradise. (It feels more like July than early June.)

Okra

I wrote a previous blog about okra HERE, and how fast it grows. Here are 3 photos only a few weeks apart. It’s an amazing plant, plus the fact that okra is quite nutritious. Those are green bell peppers on the right in the cages. They can get quite tall.
May 19, 2018
okra May 19.JPG
May 24, 2018
okra May 24.JPG
June 4, 2018 Already they are dwarfing the pepper plants.
Okra 6-4-18.jpg

Here’s a site that gives more nutrition info for okra

Composting Surprises

Volunteer Tomato Plant.jpg
In yet another previous blog I wrote about volunteers in my tiny garden paradise. Check it out HERE. In this photo you can see the volunteer tomato that I transplanted from flower containers. (There is another on the other side that I did not photograph. It's about the same size.) They’re doing well, but I have no idea if they can make their way up through their much-larger cousins. We shall see.

Lettuce
Lettuce.jpg

I’m picking lettuce very morning, and having salad for lunch every day. The lettuce is most affected by the heat. It’s growing too fast and looks like it could bolt very soon. I tried planting two more rows, hoping for an extended time of fresh lettuce. But the heat is just too much. They look stunted. I may later plant a row or two in the shade of the okra.

That may work. We’ll see.

Gardeners are always thinking creatively.

Which, of course, is what novelists like me do all the time anyway!


Writing/Publishing Sites

http://www.beanovelist.com/
https://www.facebook.com/BeANovelist/
http://www.cleanteenreads.net/
https://www.facebook.com/CleanTeenReadsNet/

Sort:  

Those okra are looking great, can't wait to see more of them. Hopefully the lettuce turns out well and the heat isn't too much for them :)

Thanks @jockery. Before Steemit, I'd never even imagined sharing my love of gardening. This venue is just so much fun. And yes, I'll be updating from time to time. Thanks for your reply!

This post has received a 4.58 % upvote from @boomerang.

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64741.88
ETH 3457.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55