Garden Composting Offers Its Own Surprises

in #gardening6 years ago

Tiny Garden Paradise.jpg
My Tiny Garden Paradise

Special Surprise

One could wax eloquent when it comes to all the wonderful benefits of maintaining a compost bin/heap/pile. But a couple years ago, mine gave me a special surprise.

Because all the kitchen scraps go into the heap, invariably seeds are introduced as well. Those seeds will sometimes germinate in the most interesting places. And they will produce!
cantelope surprise 3383.jpg

The Perfect Place

A volunteer cantaloupe plant showed up in my garden in the very spot where all the lettuce and spinach had come out. (Late in the season, both were done producing.) The perfect place.
cantelope surprise - 4.jpg

At first I wasn’t sure what it was, but as it grew the small fruit began to appear. Soon it took over one whole half of the bed.
cantelope surprise - 2.jpg

The melons were so sweet. I wish I’d kept count of how many we picked and ate, but did not.
cantelope surprise - 3.jpg

Yet More Surprises
tomato surprise in a flower pot.jpg

This year my compost heap produced yet more surprises. Two volunteer tomatoes popped up, one in one flower pot, one in another. Obviously, I use dirt from the compost heap for all my flower containers.
tomato surprise in with the marigolds.jpg

I let the seedlings get fairly good sized, then dug them out of the flowers and replanted in the garden. I already had 4 tomato plants in that bed—one being a cherry tomato that will vine. (Meaning it goes all over the place!) So it’s going to get a little crowded.
tomato surprise ready for transplant.jpg

I have no idea what kind of tomato these are, but it’ll be fun watching them grow and produce.
tomato surprise in new home.jpg

For a writer/author, gardening is my perfect stress reliever!


Writing/Publishing Sites
http://www.beanovelist.com/
https://www.facebook.com/BeANovelist/
http://www.cleanteenreads.net/
https://www.facebook.com/CleanTeenReadsNet/

Sort:  

Back when I had a yard and the time to garden, volunteers from compost were my favorite part. Some of my more disciplined friends encouraged me to weed them, but I usually never could until at least figuring out what was growing.

Hi, we have voted on your post because you have posted your article to either food, recipe, recipes, cooking or steemkitchen #tag. Steemkitchen is a brand new initiative where we want to build a community/guild focused purely on the foodie followers and lovers of the steem blockchain. Steemkitchen is in the conceptual phase and we would love to hear your thoughts and ideas.

Please consider joining us at our new discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk

Also please consider joining our curation trail on https://steemauto.com/ to help support each other in this community of food and recipe lovers.

Kind Regards

@steemkitchen

Ps. Please reply “No Vote” if you prefer not to receive this vote and comment in the future.

Oh yea. What fun. Thanks @steemkitchen!

Don't you just love volunteers! So much anticipation to see what it is :) . You have a lovely garden. So much food can be produced even in a smaller space.

Thanks for your reply, @thelaundrylady. So glad you took a peek at my endeavors. You did make me think though. I'm considering planting sunflowers in the far corner. It's where the leaves pile up through the year. It should be fairly easy for them to grow there. Thanks for several good ideas!

We are here to inspire each other. More people planting sunflowers means more food for bees. You are doing a great job!

This post has received a 3.48 % upvote from @boomerang.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65970.26
ETH 2696.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88