My Anthuriums in Bloom

in #gardening8 years ago

My Anthuriums bloom twice a year. Around the months of Mar/Apr and Nov/Dec. The number of flowers is much less in the winter, but when they do bloom, it is a lovely sight!

Yesterday I had to separate the dead leaves, when I took these pictures of the buds and the flowers.


All photos have been touched-up using GIMP, scaled in size and taken with my
mobile camera, Samsung Galaxy S6 edge



A new bud, ready to flower, peeping through the foilage



Many buds and a young flower in bloom



A close up of a mature flower, before it turns green and dies



A long shot of the whole bed of flowers



You can right-click and open image in a new tab for a larger format.
All photos are free to use without attribution or copyrights.
(Though you may give me credit, if you wish!)



If you like my work, please up-vote and read more at @norbu.
You may also click the down-arrow next to my name (before my reputation score below) to follow me. Or you may just re-steem to share the love! 😊


Sort:  


Thank you for your request to include this post in the STEEM BOOSTER list! The post is approved because you powered up minimum 100 STEEM in the last 24 h and you are not currently powering down! That means for many users that you really care about Steemit future! Good luck!

Thanks! I do care!

Thanks to steembost I found this post to vote and tweet! :)

Seems a nice initiative! Thanks.

Lovely photos
Thanks for sharing

Thank you!

That's a healthy bed of foliage and flowers. It looks like you take good care of them and they are suited to your climate. To me, these look like one of the Spathiphyllum. I have some Peace Lilies, a small houseplant in the Spathiphyllum genus, with the same type of flower and leaves. They are one hardy houseplant - they can take low light, low water, low attention - and then flower. It would be amazing to have large ones like yours! Do you ever see much insect activity on those blossoms?

You may be right! I was under the impression they were from the Anthurium genus, which is anyway very extensive. I shall find out more!

And yes, there is a lot of "insect activity" to the point that most of the leaves are eaten. I maintain a strict policy of minimal intervention but had to use organic pesticides to dissuade the suckers. I take care of them as much as my time permits, but they are suited to my climate and have grown beyond the initial boundaries I had set up for them.

Thank you for your comment.

Whether they are Anthurium or Spathiphyllum, they are pretty fantastic! The plants obviously responded well to your extra care. Enjoy your flowers!

Thank you! And true, I just enjoy them!

You have quite a big garden eh? That's really nice to have. Here I only have like 5 x 3 meters to work on.. lol

Yes I do, almost half an acre!

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 18. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.60 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 18 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Nice article, and we found you on steemboost!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66521.28
ETH 3454.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67