You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Anthuriums in Bloom

in #gardening8 years ago (edited)

That's a healthy bed of foliage and flowers. It looks like you take good care of them and they are suited to your climate. To me, these look like one of the Spathiphyllum. I have some Peace Lilies, a small houseplant in the Spathiphyllum genus, with the same type of flower and leaves. They are one hardy houseplant - they can take low light, low water, low attention - and then flower. It would be amazing to have large ones like yours! Do you ever see much insect activity on those blossoms?

Sort:  

You may be right! I was under the impression they were from the Anthurium genus, which is anyway very extensive. I shall find out more!

And yes, there is a lot of "insect activity" to the point that most of the leaves are eaten. I maintain a strict policy of minimal intervention but had to use organic pesticides to dissuade the suckers. I take care of them as much as my time permits, but they are suited to my climate and have grown beyond the initial boundaries I had set up for them.

Thank you for your comment.

Whether they are Anthurium or Spathiphyllum, they are pretty fantastic! The plants obviously responded well to your extra care. Enjoy your flowers!

Thank you! And true, I just enjoy them!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60699.16
ETH 2352.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52