Inspiration for Starting a Basil Garden and Basil Growing Tips ~ Part 2steemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardening7 years ago

Yesterday, I posted some inspiration for starting a basil garden and today, I want to continue where I left off.

As I've mentioned, I'm very inspired by basil at the moment. I just started my summer basil garden and I'm making recipes that include this aromatic herb.

I just made fresh basil pesto today, actually! Check it out here.

Besides just enjoying basil for culinary purposes, certain colored varieties, like purple basils, can really add color and contrast to a potted flower arrangement or a flowerbed.

basil.purple.JPG

Here, the potato vine really makes the purple basil stand out:

purplebasil.jpg

Basil Companion Plants

Tomato and sweet peppers happen to be two plants you can grow next to basil for shared benefits. It's like a natural boost of health for not only your basil plants but for your tomato and sweet pepper plants, too.

Basil's smell is supposed to ward off bugs that eat tomatoes, and as an added bonus, give tomatoes more flavor.

tomato.jpg

Sweet peppers, (aka bell peppers), also like growing next to basil. This isn't all that surprising considering they are another nightshade related to tomatoes.

bell-pepper-plant-61733_960_720.jpg

Green Sweet Pepper

paprika-1540242_960_720.jpg

Red Sweet Pepper

No only do basil, tomatoes, and sweet peppers benefit each other, they also share similar growing needs related to temperature, sunlight, water, soil type, and soil pH. So, it just makes sense to plant them together, anyway you look at it;)

As an added tip, if you find your basil plants (or tomato plants for that matter) start showing signs of a bug problem, one of the best solutions is to plant marigolds around them. Marigolds give off a strong aroma and are known to repel insects that love to eat basil and tomatoes.

marigold.jpg

Hope these tips have been helpful to you and maybe even inspired you to grow your own basil. Stay tuned for part 3 of my Basil Garden Inspiration Series.

Happy Gardening, Steemians!

. . . . . . . . . . . . .

Images were taken from these sources: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6

Sort:  

Very nice. I eventually want to grow my own garden.

Thanks :) Growing a garden is very rewarding. Just dont do too much at once. I've done that before, lol

Natalie, did you start your basil from seed or did you plant starters ?

I bought basil plants and then transplanted them

I just read the health benefits of eating basil and it is amazing. Good post.

Yes, basil is surprisingly good all the way around =)

I like toast 🍞

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54016.63
ETH 2289.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29