My Fresh Basil Pesto Recipe – Quick, Savory, and Delish!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago

IMG_4058.JPG

I am so in LOVE with basil at the moment! I’ve always been drawn to it but right now it’s all I can think about. I recently picked up some new basil plants at my local garden center and ever since, I’ve been thinking of different ways to use it.

Today, I made a pesto recipe of mine I’d like to share with you. It’s very easy and relatively fast to make, plus, you can do SO much with it. This pesto recipe is pretty much no muss, no fuss, minus the fact you have to get out the food processor.

IMG_4076.JPG

It’s also pretty darn flexible. Don’t have lemon or parmesan on hand? No problemo. You can absolutely make it without it. You can even substitute basil for dark leafy greens like kale or kohlrabi. You almost can’t mess up pesto…

Although this recipe includes parmesan, I actually prefer pesto without it. Pesto really doesn’t need parmesan to be a culinary masterpiece, so skip it if you wish.

For my pesto, I used Italian and purple basil. The purple basil is almost too pretty to eat!

IMG_4040.JPG

I picked the basil leaves fresh from my basil garden.

IMG_4047.JPG

Ingredients

3 garlic cloves, minced
2 C fresh picked basil leaves, tightly packed
1/2 C grated Parmesan cheese (optional)
1 T lemon juice
1 tsp lemon zest
1/2 C extra virgin olive oil
Salt and pepper, to taste

Supplies: food processor

Method

  • In your food processor, add garlic, basil, parmesan cheese, lemon juice, and lemon zest. Pulse everything together until it becomes a fine paste. (This should take about 1 minute.)

  • With the food processor running, slowly drizzle the olive oil into the pesto. You can always add a little more or a little less olive oil, depending on how thick or thin you want it to be. I prefer my pesto on the thinner side because it spreads easier. However, if you want to use it on a sandwich, you may want it thicker.

  • Lastly, salt and pepper the pesto until it tastes just right.

  • Place the fresh pesto in a sealed glass jar and it will keep for about 1 week refrigerated.

Makes about 1 cup.

What to do with your fresh basil pesto

Besides putting fresh pesto on a bed of angel hair pasta, I love it on a nice salad.

IMG_4070.JPG

For lunch, today, that's just what I decided to make to go with my homemade pesto. I simply tossed together:

  • a mix of baby lettuce, baby greens, and radicchio
  • a heaping tablespoon of fresh pesto
  • pitted Greek Kalamata olives
  • fresh mozzarella slices
  • red onion slices
  • yellow salad tomatoes

The result was a super simple, yet superb salad!

IMG_4071.JPG

Doesn't that just make your mouth water???

Go on... make some basil pesto... You know you want to !!

Sort:  

It certainly does. Everything looks so good. X

Agreed.. it also tastes as good as it looks!

Oooh now we're talkin! Looks great on that salad - and i love the purple basil! I recently made pesto and replaced the pine nuts with walnuts - and it was SO good. I see you didn't include nuts in your recipe - but I bet the lemon juice makes it nice and bright almost like a vinaigrette. I think it would be great as a marinade for chicken or fish!

That is a really great idea.. I would have never thought of that. Interesting...

Great article @nataliejohnson! I would like to include this post in the next issue of the Weekly Homesteading Newsletter which is a series posted every Sunday that aims to help collect awesome articles and resources like this one! This article will be linked and your username featured if you accept - please let me know if it is alright to include your article as soon as possible! Thank you and have a great day!

Thank you so much! I'll send you a link when it is posted this weekend :)

Hey there! I just wanted to inform you that your article has been included and linked in the most recent issue of the Weekly Homesteading Newsletter! Please check it out if you have the time! Thank you and have a great day!

AWESOME AWESOME!!

Thanks @kiaraantonoviche

<3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3

Thank you for this! :)

You're very welcome, @skypixelpilot. It was my pleasure =)

I love pesto sauces for pizza and pastas . Looks good and easy to make. Special thanks to @allaboutpastries for recommending your recipe and to you for sharing it. :)

Me too, @dreamingirwin... I get bored of using spaghetti sauce all the time. It is very easy to make just takes a little bit of time cleaning the food processor. I suppose a high-end blender might do the trick like a Vitamix but I've never tried that... clean up would be a little easier that way.

I'll second that =)

follow me and i'll follow you

Great post! I've been obsessing over homemade pesto recently. Nothing compares to homemade, I think. I'll have to try it on a salad, per your suggestion. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64564.26
ETH 3223.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65