Gardening As Stress Reliever - Oh Yes! Tadaaaahhhh - MyLatest Container Garden in 2018 !

in #gardening6 years ago (edited)

Hi Guys!

The container garden on the top terrace is partially prepared, seeds were sown and its newbies transferred to its pots. You may never know the good and positive feeling gardening can offer if you haven´t tried to garden and hold the soil in your own hands. I seldom use gloves, the feel of the earth physically is so satisfying. At this stage of my life, I am renewed somehow, no hectic , stress. The manicured fingernails are so seldom nowadays...since my retirement , I have cut my nails short.

And so dear readers, I now have my newbies transferred to pots and other containers. Season after season, I love to have these loots from the garden center such as salad greens, tomatoes, bell peppers, onions, strawberries , eggplant and a lot of self-sown seeds like beans and cukes (long and short). I grow them every year in containers. A few friends knew me on my gardening journey that I have a small garden downstairs as part of the row house we live in. There was no way for me to plant my veggies there because the slugs attack my plants all the time. So, I decided to put my containers on the top terrace and have been growing veggies there ever since.

cherry tomatoes 1.jpg

PAST SEASON´S HARVEST

The image on top showing me harvesting and the below photo showed my past harvests and the fruits of my labor which I considered a success in container gardening. When I used to come home after office work, I needed some stress reliever and these potted goodies were simply the right doze for me to get rid of those stress. Gardening really creates a good feeling within me once I see the greens popping-out of the soil. I see each of the plant growing everyday which as a miracle!

green bell pepper.jpg
This was one of four potted bell peppers I´ve had. I only harvested a few
when I needed some for cooking. It´s pretty cool to have them
still on their branches as they would remain fresh and crispy.

THE GARDENING SEASON HAS JUST BEGUN

After a very long winter, Spring is really here and the planting season has already started. Lord , I thank thee! And now, I took the first steps to set up my container garden this season. Plants and greens mean big business in Austria. All materials or anything you need to start a garden are available here. Whether you have a garden or a balcony, you can make them green, you only have to make efforts to go to the garden center and choose your favorites flowers or veggies to plant. In a few weeks, you will have greens all over.

20180502_080542.jpg

20180502_080412.jpg

CHILDHOOD GARDEN

When I was a girl at 7, my mom ran a canteen that caters food to the ground crew of the first Manila International Airport... My Dad was the supervising officer of the company that built the Airport. When the construction was finished, we were given the right to put up a canteen near the Airport because there wasn´t any in the vicinity for the employees to go to .... so the airport technicians, office employees, airplane mechanics and road workers came to our canteen to eat.

At the back of the canteen, was mom´s big vegetable garden that was extended until the creek. We had a gardener nearby who took care of the plot. There were banana trees, sweet potatoes, tomatoes,bell pepper, onions, garlic, squash, spinach we call alugbati as well as other leafy vegetables like watercress. We we´re sort of self sufficient and could sustain from the veggies harvested from the garden ...we didn´t need to buy for a couple of weeks. Perhaps those vivid memories of mom´s wonderful garden triggered my subconscious to like whatever is growing from the soil. Now I am here on my terrace reminiscing my childhood days, it was indeed a happy childhood.

20180501_082839.jpg

Now you see part of my potted goodies on one side , the ones below are seeds of cukes (cucumbers) that I have sown a week ago.

20180502_080828.jpg

20180502_080643.jpg

20180502_080814.jpg
These green bean newbies were grown from seeds, I emptied the whole pack of seeds and now I just do not know where to plant them because I am already running out of space on my top terrace, LOL!

20180501_082845.jpg
These salad greens came from the garden center as 6-pack-newbies, they have grown so fast the last few days because of the heat.

20180425_081140.jpg

Spring onions that will soon be harvested. I planted old onions last Sept and over the wintertime, they grew and now they are to be harvested any day now.

20180501_082937.jpg
Aubergine (Eggplant) that is italian in origin... they are rounder
and chubby in sizes.

20180425_081436.jpg
I got a pair of these bell peppers, one is green and the other red.

20180502_080609.jpg
strawberries

cherry tomatoes a.jpg
It was this cherry tomatoes-photo along with my recipe on the Roasted Garlic Cherry Tomatoes that got me a curation from the Curie Team about 8 months ago. You can find the recipe here

All contents and images on this post are original and are properties of the author. If you would like to use any of the photos from this post, please give source credits by linking the URL of this post in your content.

Footer.gif

GIF provided by @gremayo

Sort:  

Super impressive for those nicely planted containers despite the small terrace. I am sure your plants will be bountiful again like the last time you harvested those tomatoes...

Oh I am sure those tomatoes are yummy. Keep us updated.. and thanks for sharing

i wish i could be like you when i grow old hahaha, that garden of yours is so wow! i love it!

Thankies @otom... Yes, when you grow old! Hahaha.. but it will still take decades to do that!

Wow! I also love gardening. In our hometown, we used to plant vegetables to but since we transfered here in the City, we don't have enough space at home for gardening. We do pot gardening too as you did. Nice sharing and I love the photos.😊👍

Thank you so much, appreciate your lovely comment. That´s the thing when you move to the city, you will miss doing the gardening.

Liebe @mers, du gefällst mir! Danke für den tollen Beitrag!!!
Es ist viel Arbeit, aber es lohnt sich sehr, stimmt’s?
Außerdem wenn es Spaß macht, vergeht die Zeit so schnell, nicht war?

Meine Tomaten sind auch schon in den Töpfen.
Würden dich ein Paar Bilder von meinen interessieren?

Danke Dir lieber Anja! Ja,bitte unbedingt Bilder v. deine Tomaten.. werde mich sehr freuen..

Das sind noch Anfänge image

Hast du ein Wintergarten oder ist es bei euch so warm das sie darausen wachsen können?

Hallo Anja! Nein Ich habe kein Wintergarten, aber bei uns klettern schon die Temperaturen wie auf 20°C herum. Jetzt es ist 22°C im Schatten. Was sind die Sorten Deine Tomaten?... Ich habe 2 Cherry Tomaten und 2 Fleischtomaten und gebe ich manchmal Kaffee-Satz und ein bisschen Eierschalle (pulverisiert) als Dünger.

bei mir sind alles Cherry Tomaten. meine Mama hat mir die Planzen gegeben. Danke für den Tipp

Gardening is a good stress reliever maam @mers. I also love planting though we only have little space so I used the lot area at back of house but the lot is not ours. I have my camias tree already bearing its fruit and my papaya is now blooming buds by the time it will br ready to harvest I will do s post about it too. More power and super thanks!

Yes, do make your blog about it and make clear images... it will help a lot for your blog to get noticed by others. Thanks for dropping by, glad to see you here.

Super thanks maam @mers and mabuhay!

You´re welcome.

Seeing your blogs and just enjoying your life and posting it as a wonderful simple achievements is a real inspiration for us newbies.

Yes, being able to produce tomatoes on your backyard is already a great factor of life sustainability. You won't go to the market everytime you run out of these veggies but just pick the ripe ones in your garden. We also have it here I our backyard, but not tomatoes. My mom also has a green thumb :) thank you for posting such an inspirational activity mam mers!

Thank you dear for dropping by.. appreciate your wonderful comments.

i love gardening , but i do not have the so called "green thumb" ... i am so impressed with your garden mam @mers...!!

Salamat! You should have a try.. it only needs small effort to grow plants but the rewards are great..

Wow im impressed all in pots please pass on some of those tomotoes.

Hehehe.. thanks!

wow such a beauiful collection of plants.you care all????i m so impressed you are really hardworking women.so sweet shiny tomatoes

Thanks dear... appreciate your kind comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60771.43
ETH 3271.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44