You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hydroponic Growing Methods Part 1 Dutch Buckets

in #gardening8 years ago

Hi @jed78 - I've done some research on hydroponics but honestly, I'm leaning more towards an aquaponics system. I like the idea that it generates its own sort of ecosystem and I have fresh fish to eat - and it's all organic. I'll be starting very small - not nearly the footprint you've got going on! Good luck!

Sort:  

Yea a large system like this would be harder to do thru aquaponics, simply due to the large amounts of fish storage that would be needed, and to be honest, it's a full time job selling tomatoes. I don't know if I could handle all the fish too.

there's a local guy who does aquaponics on a large scale than I would ever consider. Half the time he can't give the tilapia away. If I started, I would probably stick with bass and catfish in the beginning. Have you thought about expanding your produce? I hear lettuce and strawberries do really well

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60986.47
ETH 2413.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59