Wildlife in my Garden

in #gardening7 years ago

So I finally decided to transplant my tomato seedlings after being in a crowded pot in quite a while.

IMG_4640.JPG

IMG_4630.JPG
Five's a crowd. Plants need space too...

IMG_4639.JPG
I grew these seedlings from seeds from kitchen scrap. Cool isn't it. Turning waste into food (well, only when these seedlings grow and bear fruit ^.^ ).

IMG_4757.JPG
I removed them from the pot. Look at those roots...

IMG_4759.JPG
Tadaaahhh!! I loosen the roots very gently. Got one seedling. And took a picture..

Oopps can you see a little fellah at the left side of the photo?

A photo bomber!

IMG_4762.JPG
Zoom in!

Unknowingly, he's been staring at me the whole time I'm doing my transplanting procedure.. Good thing, he didn't move. What if i'm not wearing my eyeglasses and I stepped into him...?? O.o

IMG_4481.JPG
Here's a preview of my backyard... where snakes and iguanas roam freely... Better be careful next time..

Thanks for reading until here. :)

Cheers,
melai ^.^

Sort:  

nice backyard space, lots of room for growing

@doitvoluntarily Indeed! But im kinda afraid to go beyond the cemented area.. SO i just set up a cage at the left side.. Needed the cage or else iguanas will eat my crops.. :D

katakot naman yung ahas gurlash
goodluck with the kamatis
you can also propagate them by cutting the tops and replanting them - just make sure they drown everyday till those cuttings grow roots
if you decide to give it a try - do it with 1 first

Ohhh i didnt know it can be done sa kamatis... Galing! Actually limited ako sa space. I have a cage na andun lahat ng tanim ko. Inuubos kasi ng iguana ung dahon :( will try that propagation method! :)

I bet those will be some good tomatoes. It always amazes me what food waste can grow. For example, overripe tomatoes in comparing pile to celery bottoms to potato peels.

Keep on growing!

Thanks @breakfastchief. I visited your blog, your garden is looking good! :)

I am a tomato nut. They are so easy to grow and forgiving to abuse. I grow about 20 different varieties every year. I love finding new favorites.

Tip: Bury them deep, leaving about the top six inches above the soil. The stalks will put out roots. Water regularly to prevent blossom end rot. Feed fairly heavily because they grow fast and are HUNGRY.

It looks like you have leaf miners in a couple of those plants. Not a huge deal but you may want to spray with some neem if you have any.

Good luck!

-Oppe

@brewcitygardener

Thanks for the tip @brewcitygardener ! im using neem spray for those pesky leaf miners. My tomatoes are looking more green now :) I just dont like the smell of DIY neem spray ~,~

Those plants should be off to the races now. They may outgrow those pots in a month so if you want them to really produce a lot you may want to transplant again later. Good luck!

Thank you @garden-to-eat My tomatoes are currently in a 3 gal container... looking to transplant in bigger pot soon! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66740.62
ETH 3336.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72