My Journey to Find a Sustainable Life Part 1.

in #gardening8 years ago (edited)

Hello All!
My name is Sean, and I am a 21 year old college student who has grown up in suburbia all of my life. In the last few years, I have progressively become more aware of how unsustainable my life is, as with millions of other Americans. There are many things in our society that are considered unsustainable, but what I think is the most important issue we face, is the sustainability of our food system.

After going down the rabbit hole and seeing how disastrous the food supply is, from the dairy industry to Florida grown tomatoes, it motivated me to start growing my own food.
With limited space and a lot of hope, I set up 5 raised beds (~300 sq ft) and gave it a shot. After two successful growing seasons, I decided to see how it would be to grow fresh organic food on a grander scale.

Soooooo

Last summer I took a trip up to rural Vermont to volunteer on a small farm. I found this farm through an online network called wwoof, which stands for World Wide Opportunities on Organic Farming. In the short time I was there, I learned a lot about farming, and even more about myself.

This upcoming week, I will be volunteering on a Permaculture style farm in the Catskills. Permaculture is the development of agricultural ecosystems intended to be sustainable and self-sufficient. Im interested to see these systems in practice, and if your interested too, follow me, becuase I am going to be writing about my experience here. I will be covering not only how they're utilizing permaculture techniques, but also the economics behind this Sustainable lifestyle. Every post I will also be discussing the dangers of conventional farming and compare it to Permaculture. So stay tuned!

Sort:  

Good for you, Sean! Always nice to meet another Sean... especially one who's into farming. Feel free to visit my posts as well and leave any feedback or questions there.

https://steemit.com/food/@seanjones/what-s-the-difference-between-store-bought-pork-and-homestead-pork

You mean another sean who spells it the right way ;). lol I followed you, I cant wait for future content!

Followed you as well!

Great gardening ideas. I want to add the house that fits to that garden. Just have a look: Great, great, great... I really love these thoughts about sustainability. There are so many valuable ideas out there. It IS possible to develop, to take the next step, to change. My two cents about that: https://steemit.com/lowimpact/@pollux.one/simon-dale-lammas-project-low-impact-building-and-the-european-austrian-answer-by-wolfgang-lackner

Congratulations @livefromny! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @livefromny! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65306.74
ETH 3488.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51