Garden Adventures: Baby Jackfruit Trees, Mystery Plant and Succulent Zen Garden

in #gardening7 years ago

At @modprobe's Mansion warming party we had a jackfruit, a mammoth tropical thing that is full of big seeds that I wanted to start to grow them into trees, so I did. Today I decided to transplant a lot of them and I took some shots of them, the lanky thin things in this photo are jackfruit trees and should produce the mammoth fruit in about 2 years with the right conditions.

This thing I purchased awhile back for just 15 pesos, I don't know what it is but it's pretty and now it's got a new pot to flourish in.

My adventures training my rosebush has come along quite nicely, yielding some interesting gnarled branches.

The succulent garden has been through a lot. Just before getting put in this container Tequila trampled much of it and some of it has died as a result. Other stuff has been weakened and eaten by bugs and we've had some new additions. Life isn't always zen in the zen garden.

Check out some of my other recent posts!

Living in the Clouds: Meet Hurricane Max
Drawing Adventures: Metallic Blue Daisy Ink Doodle.
Giant Quail Egg with 3 Yolks

Sort:  

I would love to try jackfruit meat in a vegatarian recipe :-)

I have recently tried jackfruit as a meat substitute. It was stringy like meat with teriyaki. Good. Cool you are growing some. I have read the trees put out a massive amount of fruit.

I've not come across them unripe but I've heard they're good for that purpose so I'm excited to try it. I've also heard they put out a lot of fruit...

Interesting... hadn't heard of Jackfruit before, so had to go Google it... I guess it's similar to (but bigger!) breadfruit, which we had a lot in Jamaica when I lived there as a kid.

Yeah, it's a fruit known for killing people by falling and dropping on their heads

I think u might need a lot of space for those jackfruits trees.

Did you know the seeds are edible? If you boil it for about twenty minutes and peel the seed, the inside white meat is slightly creamy and soft.

BTW, all my pepper plants suffered from abnormal heat; died. I'm thinking of replacing it with succulents. Happy gardening. Aloha!

Hey, thanks for the suggestion on the seeds! We've got space and I've got friends that'll buy them too, so they won't go to waste :)

You write very well hopefully this paper gets the upvote that there is and resteemed everyone. so your position is quickly upgraded. keep working waiting for the next post

Nice photography!!
its cool!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57684.56
ETH 3120.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33