Farm Update: Super Hardy Naked Necked Chicken Breed are Survivors of Hurricane and Other Crap Weather

in #gardening7 years ago

Truth be told guys, we've lost most of our chickens from various things now left with 12 adult chickens of various types and of both sexes(not including the 13 small ones we just bought). There's also Meep but that's more of a pet than a farm animal. But we've got these two hardy bastards known as naked necked chickens, that's their variety. They're pretty hardy to just about everything and they've stuck around seemingly unphased where other birds have just dropped over dead.

So far, they don't like any bird we've put in with them so we just leave them alone, together and life goes on.

Very good with heat, draught and apparently rainfall.

A lot of farming is playing referee. Knowing when birds don't get along and separating them, sometimes it involves smacking a particularly mean bird around or isolating them completely to keep them from attacking weaker birds. Chickens are vicious and they die easily, guys.

Check out some of my other recent posts!

Adventures Around Acapulco: El Centro Part 1
Wild Marigold and Mariposa A Photo Story
Lily's Bonsai Rose Bush: Vegetative Growth Adventures

Sort:  

They are so cute :D

I think so too!

your post is very interesting, I like your post, because it can add insight for me, hopefully the future can provide better posts again, so that I can know many things in my life, thank you

They look like x between a turkey and a chicken. Glad they're Hardie and hope they're good layers because they'll never win a beauty pageant.

I think they're cute, and they've not so far produced anything yet but they have gotten bigger

I've never heard of that breed before. Super easy to spot those two, haha. I'm gonna read about them and see if they might fit down on my homestead. Love the pics.

I am surprised by them, I will say.

Nice view!!!
i really love that....

Your post is very intersting i like your blog very cute birds also have a 5 pairs

those folks look mean indeed... @lily-da-vine nice photos... and am glad you recovering well as i know ou will bounce back.. thanks for sharing worthy of my upvote

Nice post. Worth reading it.

Turkens!

I have wanted to get some for a while since they are cold hardy and think they might do okay through the winters here. Good all purpose birds.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63423.66
ETH 3077.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87