Worm Farming - Favorite Foods

in #gardening6 years ago (edited)

So I have always used several foods for my worm bins that are common favorites for worms. Banana, avocado, squash, pumpkin, most melons, etc. Basically any none citrus fruit or veggie worms will love. This is because it breaks down super fast for the microbes and worms to feed but veggies are also around 80% water or more. Lettuces can be up to 98% water. Worms like moisture and water makes up a huge amount of a worms mass which is why they love to feed on veggie scraps.

We go threw lots of fruits and veggies but I still do pickups bringing home several trash cans full of veggie scraps a week for my worm bins. The feed stock consist of a huge variety but here lately we have been going threw a lot of mango. The seeds almost always sprout in the worm bins after all the fruit has been eaten and we usually take them out and try to plant them in the greenhouse but sometimes they will make several trips threw the worm bins. While feeding today I noticed several of these mango seeds that where packed with worms.

KIMG3408.JPG

Usually the only time I see worms group feed like this is when I do avocado halves. Especially because my larger bins have lots of feedstock spread out over a larger area so they will still be lots in one area feeding but not all shoved into a closed seed pod. This tells me once the mango seed has rotten it produces a very nutritious food source for microbes and worms alike.

KIMG3410.JPG

Here is an article I did on how I prepare my worm food..

https://steemit.com/vermicomposting/@liberyworms/worm-food-prep

Even if you don't produce much waste for a larger scale worm bin you can always do a small scale worm bin that may not produce enough for planting a whole garden with castings but it will produce enough to make your own aerated worm teas to spray on your gardens. We even feed all our boxes along with food waste and if you have a small homestead you have plenty of waste from gardens or livestock to have a larger worm bin. Doesn't take much waste to feed a small worm bin and right now the best commercial worm bin for function and price is the Urban Worm Bag.

Get your own Urban Worm Bag here... http://urbanwormbag.com?rfsn=966433.7083d&utm_source=refersion&utm_medium=affiliate&utm_campaign=966433.7083d

Sort:  

Very cool! When I was a kid, I started a worm farm of my own, but I must have done something wrong, because all the worms escaped out of the drainage holes and into the ground. (I had it in a shed with a dirt floor.)
What do you do with your worms? Are they food for something, or fishing bait? Or are they only there to make the compost?
Great post!

We use them for castings for planting and our aerated worm teas but we also expanded to run a small business to help bring a little income into the homestead. We sell the worms, castings and aerated teas from our Liberty Worms LLC business. We also do things like meal worms and super worms that produce the frass we use and sell also.

Very cool! I bet your plants grow fantastically when planted with castings! :D
I love that you were able to make a business out of it!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Thanks for the post, has given me inspiration to start my own

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56905.21
ETH 2508.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36