Late summer afternoon in the garden

in #gardening6 years ago

backyard greenery.JPG

It's late in the afternoon and the maple trees are casting shadows over the backyard. The light still falls on the fence and the milkweed/zinnia bed. That's the fence where the robins were born this spring. And last week, I probably saw the last Monarch butterfly.

Somehow knowing a huge storm was on the way, the Monarchs have left. It was reported they touched down in huge numbers on the south side of Lake Erie before continuing their migration. There she is.

last monarch.JPG

The tall zinnias will bloom bravely until killed by frost. They are intermixed with the milkweeds that are starting to fall and look raggedy, and the beans didn't help. I made a mistake when I bought my green bean seeds, going by the picture and seeing no indication that they were pole beans. I didn't realize that until they started twining up the milkweeds from the front of the bed. Still, I harvested quite a few beans so I'm happy and I will plant them near the fence next year. A lovely thing about gardening is the yearly chance for a redo.

It's warm today and feels like summer so I'm enjoying every bit of it. At this time of year we're on borrowed time with the average first frost date less than two weeks away. That means I have to bring some plants inside. Meanwhile, my beans have produced enough for dinner tonight.

green beans.JPG

Images

Photos from the iPad of @kansuze.

Follow footer.gif

@kansuze

Sort:  

Your garden is lovely. I suppose I should be seeing some monarchs passing through before too long.

I always seem to end up with at least a few pole beans, no matter what the package says. Tricky little beans.

Thanks. They were pleased with the Monarch numbers this year.

Howdy partner, I'm @photocurator, a curation bot; I keep an eye on the photo feeds, I vote random photos of my followers and at the end of the day I publish a post with links to the best photos. Follow @photocurator to get your photos curated in the future!

It may be looking raggedy to you but compared to my arid climate, it looks extremely lush

It rained recently and that perks it right up but it has been drier for a few years and we're losing trees because of it.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-09-14T22:01:15
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 346.50/200.00
Total Photos: 55
Total comments: 2
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 1.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

What a beautiful garden!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks. That's only half of it.

Really, wow!! You're welcome!!

Posted using Partiko Android

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

Greetings @kansuze! Your post was randomly chosen and was resteemed because you are one of our followers. Enjoy your free resteem!

Love what we do? By upvoting this notification, you're supporting @Shareables. If you need more information about us, click here.

If you wish to stop receiving this comment, please do unfollow us.

Shareables - We resteem anything we find shareable. Always strive for quality content. Go on express and harness your blogging potential!

God bless from us @Shareables!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61122.11
ETH 2972.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66