#mypictureday: Story of an apricot tree, that grew from a seed planted by my son.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

Good morning dear Steemians!

I tell you an instructive story about patience and love, that saved a life and we got the fruits of gratitude.

The story began 12 years ago, when my son was 5 and loved apricots. That year, as it is now,there was bumper crop of it. He ate the apricots, then planted the seeds in the soil, in front of our house. He played he was a gardener, while I was taking care of the flowers. We did not even think that there would ever be a tree from one of the seeds. Because of other occupations, I stopped the care of the garden and my neighbor took over the task. One of her first activities was to take off the seedlings that had grown in the meantime, with one exception. Somehow she felt that one had to stay, and began to care of the tree. The tree grew year after year, brought flowers, but never yielded. Many people asked why the tree was there is if it didn't grow fruits. And if there were fruits on it, they would be tiny and sour.
Last summer was the first time, when we found 2-3 fruits on the tree, but they vanished before ripening. Now falls under plenty of fruits, 10 kilograms of almost ripened apricots. One more week, and they can be harvested! Unfortunately I can not eat it because I will be in Miskolc, but it is compensated by the fact that there is also the same tree full of fruit.


Almost ripe:

20170705_175924-001.jpg

20170705_175859-001.jpg

20170705_175913-001.jpg


The tree, in full splendor:

20170705_175839-001.jpg


This stonecrop is not tasty, but very useful herb for earache:

20170705_180013-001.jpg


You may also see my similar tree-story:

https://steemit.com/photography/@kalemandra/mypictureday-by-timsaid-the-big-nearly-200-years-old-oak-tree-in-halesz-park-szekesfehervar


Áldás!♥♥♥Blessings!♥♥♥Namaste!♥♥♥Aloha!

Sort:  

Love your story, always fun when something surprising like that happen.

This is just a small wonder of everyday life. :)

This is a very beautiful story. I used to do this as a child, to plant seeds, and still doing it alone, or with my daughter 😄 . It is a creative way to educate children and inspire their love for nature.

My son is a nature lover. Always take care of living creatures, not rubbishes, because he was taught from his early childhood.

A very interesting life stories

Absolutely gorgeous Kalemandra! I love all your posts. You have such an eye for color and light.

Thank you so much! :)

@kalemandra - Nice story. The tree your son had planted survived so many years to finally yield fruit! This clearly shows 'The fruits of patience are sweet indeed'. Thanks for sharing this lovely experience.

Thanks for sharing. Upvoted.

I request you to visit my latest blogs if you find time. Have posted couple of funny ones (my funny bone seems to be acting up these days 😎 ) about wildlife. Your comments will be very welcome. Thanks

I want these fresh fruits :) They look so good and juicy :)

Indeed! Also my favourite! I eat 10-15 apricots every morning, until noon.

WOW... I need this tree :))

@kalemandra again beautifull natural picture thanks for sharing upvoted :)

Isn't it so great when something like this happens a refreshing story to start the day thank you

Great story, I love apricots!

That's amazing, I wonder what makes the trees to decide to one year fruit, and another year not. I wonder what it's trying to tell you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52740.91
ETH 2362.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.09