You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Edible Allium Cepa

in #gardening8 years ago

I have indeed experienced bolting, but only with my basil plant. I just kept chopping off the flowers, but it was pretty insistent on shooting them out. Still got a lot of leaves off of it over the course of the summer :)

Sort:  

@justtryme90 ah - I haven't with the basil I also have no success in growing one

Is where you live very warm? Basil doesn't seem to like it when things get really hot.

@justtryme90 no, in fact very cold now - just snowed and normally wet - I live in the country where the 1st ever Steemfest was held. I grow them indoor in a pot. Perhaps I should grow them in my vegetable garden - I'm getting a new one - bigger this year and maybe I could try out there. In the pot, they die one by one. Leaves with and the stems turn brown first from the bottom. The longest they lasted was 2 months and I'd buy again, re-pot them in a bigger pot after 2 weeks and have the same result. Like insanity - I tried propagating by cuttings but the same thing happens maybe am doing something so wrong.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67167.83
ETH 3499.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81