Sort:  

I read the comments and saw you use it for meal, what kind of grinder do you use?

In the past, we've used one of those cast iron hand grinders with the metal plates, but you can't really get a fine flour from one of those. This year we bought an electric grinder that uses grinding stones, you can grind wheat into flour with it, so it should make nice corn flour also.
The corn is a variety from Montana called Painted Mountain. It's supposed to grow at higher altitudes up to about 6000 feet. We're not nearly that high, but it's also a pretty tough short season corn.

I've just used an old coffee grinder in the past for grinding my meal corn but I sift it out and the powdery stuff I use as corn meal while the grittier stuff I use for grits. One of these days we'll probably get a decent grinder... but this year the appliance I added to the kitchen was a press and I made loads of apple juice!
I'll have to try that corn. I live at 5280 and it's pretty tough to get a long enough season, I've done it but didn't have luck this year.

Yes, it's worth trying the Painted Mountain corn at your altitude and see how it does.

In the past, we've used one of those cast iron hand grinders with the metal plates, but you can't really get a fine flour from one of those. This year we bought an electric grinder that uses grinding stones, you can grind wheat into flour with it, so it should make nice corn flour also.
The corn is a variety from Montana called Painted Mountain. It's supposed to grow at higher altitudes up to about 6000 feet. We're not nearly that high, but it's also a pretty tough short season corn.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59007.15
ETH 2493.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46