From Eggs..... To Baby Doves....

in #gardening5 years ago (edited)

5.jpg

About 3 weeks ago I showed you a small flower pot with two Dove eggs in it that was in a shallow nest on a shelf in my carport.

4.jpg

Since then they have changed a LOT ! First from tiny, nearly nekkid babies....

nekid birds.jpg

......to now, two fat chicks in a pot !

20190919_184055.jpg

Aren't they adorable ????

Soon they will be trying out those wings I'm sure.

I talked to the mother each time I came to the carport or got out of the car. No matter what, she nearly always flew away, but lately if she has been on the nest, she would stay there and let me pass without her fleeing. It's been fun to watch their progression.

I took the day off, had a dental checkup this morning and did some shopping after. It's been a pleasant day.

Hope you are all having a happy day.

Love you !

Jacey

Sort:  

The miracle of life 💕

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes !.... a sweet miracle.

How lovely to have a family being raised right in front of your eyes!

I thought so too ! It's been so much fun watching it all happen.

Adorable is definately the word. Enjoy your gift.

Oh I have been ! They grew SO fast ! Amazing....

I'm resteeming this so that all the other #featheredfriday fans might get a chance to see it, too!
That is precious!

Oh ! Thank you ! I have seen some of the Feathered Friday posts, but it didn't cross my mind yesterday when I was putting this post up.

So many times the nests will be where you can't see in them. I was delighted to get to witness this, but did wonder in the beginning if it would be too easily accessed by predators since it is barely more than 5 foot off the ground. Fortunately.... they are still there !

Doves are not the greatest parents, but still their population is thriving, so they must be doing something right!
Use #featheredfriday anytime you have a bird related post. It doesn't have to be on a Friday.

Someone mentioned they didn't have a great reputation as good parents the first time I posted the eggs, but she sure has fed them well. They barely fit in the pot together now. :)

She did great! Often they just lay 4 sticks across a tree branch and call it a nest and the eggs fall to the ground. Maybe it's not that they are bad parents, they're just bad builders!

Last year one of them built a nest on the ledge on top of the post inside the carport. I took it down because I pictured them flying across the car and pooping everywhere. LOL I was fascinated with the nest though. It was obvious small twigs that were nearly all the same size and they were woven together so that the nest kept it's shape when I held it in my had. It was SO shallow though and after seeing the size of the eggs this year, I wondered if they would have ever stayed in that ledge nest if they had been laid there before.

Since she chose to build inside the pot this time, the eggs were quite safe.

She did really well! Such a lovely place to raise her little ones! A fairytale cottage!

What a good mother dove! It will be interesting to see if she returns the following year to nest in the same place.

Hi !

She obviously has been feeding them well... right ?

That WILL be interesting to see. I had not thought about that.

Oh my goodness how lucky! I had few wrens raised on my porch one time, but they are so tiny. These are dramatic and beautiful.

They are dramatic! Their eyes seem nearly half the size of their entire heads. It has been a real treat to me to get to watch them grow. I'm thinking they won't be around a lot longer. I am being careful each time I pull into the carport to make sure neither of them has tried to fly and is on the ground.

Goos jhob melinda, verry nice for you. Animal baby

Thank you !

Animal babies are always so cute !

Oh they are adorable!

Aren't they ?! I've certainly enjoyed them.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you ! That was so kind of you.

Awe that is so awesome @jacey.boldart!! :-)
They look so sweet in the planter pot!
@melinda010100 has to see this!!!

I thought so too ! The Moma picked out a nice place to build her nest. I'm sure she's the envy of all the other Doves.... :)

Thanks for the shout, @shasta! 💕

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01