Free Pallets for My Garden

in #gardening6 years ago

IMG-20180412-01214.jpg

I've wanted to buy pallets for a while now but the place selling it, is closed on weekends and I don't have transport during the week. So, about two weeks ago someone brought me a few pallets absolutely free, I don't know where they got it from or what it was used for, but it looks quite new.

IMG-20180412-01217.jpg

My initial plan was to make raised garden beds, but these pallets are smaller than the ones I wanted to buy. So, I decided to just modify it a bit by removing every second plank and also one of the support planks. Now I can simply place it where I want it, fill it up with soil and start planting. And I've got some extra wood to build a planter or two.

IMG-20180412-01219.jpgExtra Wood

IMG-20180228-01022.jpgTools I used to remove the planks

IMG-20180412-01222.jpg
Stamp showing the treatment used

Another great thing about these pallets is that it has been heat treated and not chemically treated, which makes it perfect for vegetable gardening.

What the Stamp Means

The packaging standard that protects the world's forests from disease is called the International Standard for Phytosanitary Measures no. 15 (ISPM15).

Every piece of wooden packaging that is treated is stamped with an internationally recognised mark to prove the packaging item has been treated to the ISPM15 standard. This mark essentially acts as a passport for the packaging item allowing it to be confidently transported across international borders with the knowledge it does not contain wood-borne pests.

ispm15.png

Source

An example of what I want to do with the pallets...

palletgarden_annegibson-560x410.jpg

source

I hope this method of planting is going to be cat proof, event though we don't have any cats of our own, our next door neighbours have a combined number of 7 or 8 cats and that's besides all the other cats running around. It's very frustrating having to clean up after cats that aren't even yours.



DQmTRR5VcoprEbRW8JyVopMRwbuYVRRYDZA7cHKusoPTtaM.png


DQmTxr8ui764gnE6ThnQ1vcWNN7jf7pzg3cf6NZqmLKKeP8_1680x8400.png
Team South Africa banner created by @bearone

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by hoosain from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

That is a great idea for planting into @hoosain did not know the markings on wood, an interesting fact to remember.

I only found out about the stamp after searching for ways to take the pallets apart, someone mentioned it in one of the videos I watched... Just shows there's always something new to learn :-)

Brilliantly creative and practical - Loving it!

Thank you :-)

This is an awesome idea!

I don't think that I have the space for this but I will definitely remember this for any time I need to do something similar. I have some stuff about my own home vegetable/herb gardening in one of my Journal posts.

Remember to post something when you start planting!

It is really amazing what people are doing with pallets...

Maybe you could try vertical pallet gardening like this one...

images.jpeg

That's really cool. I can go for that.

Man, I had to spend so long hauling these pallets around, tearing them apart, etc on my mom's farm as a kid.

Thanks for sharing this great post! Very cool that you were able to get some pallets at no cost. It is amazing what people are doing these days with pallets. There is basically a whole subsection of Pintrest dedicated to it. I am always surprised at the things my wife shows me that people made. Would it be possible for you to attach four of the planks you pulled at the corners and wrap some chicken wire around the garden? That should keep the cats and other critters out.

At this point I'm willing to try anything, but I guess I'll just figure it out as I go along and see what works.

Thanks for stopping by :-)

I wish I could get my hands on some pallets; where I'm at the are in high demand. Seems as though EVERYONE wants them and is looking for them.

Looking good!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67416.66
ETH 3475.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67