You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Früchte, Kräuter und Gemüse aus meinem Garten / Fruits, Herbs and Vegetables in my garden

You have a great assortment of garden fruits, vegetables, and herbs! Very nice!

I can relate about having slug problems, for sure! I have found that they hide out in the grass during the day and come into the garden at night. So a wide band of bare soil or wood chip mulch helps a lot, because they have to leave protection.

I have a Lapins cherry, too, here in Oregon's Willamette Valley. They are a tasty cherry! They are the last to get ripe, out of the different kinds that I have. I have sat in my office, on a conference call, and watched Cedar Waxwing birds strip my entire tree of Early Burlat cherries in one hour! I couldn't even stop them because I had to be on the phone call. So maddening! So I was glad to have Lapins still not ripe then! :O

Here's to great gardens for everyone in 2017!

Sort:  

Yes, indeed. We don't want to use chemicals to fight them. So we only tried the natural way.
Chemicals would not only harm the slugs but also the other creatures and the environment.
Although there are some stuff which are said to be naturally degradable so that it wouldn't damage the environment, but it would be harmful to another kind of snails, that are useful like Leopard slugs and Escargots for example, because they have similar body characteristic.
A beer trap would not only attract slugs in our garden but also inviting slugs from neighbour's garden, so it's not a solution either. :-D
Finally my husband had to personally help the limax maximus and the ground beetles in hunting slugs LOL.
Especially when it's a rainy days... he would hunt slugs at night and throw them in the composter to let the leopard slugs have a party.
We had planted some pyracanth near the cherry tree as an attempt to distract the birds. It's supposedly loved by the birds too. I hope it will work ^_^
Have a nice gardening too soon.
I'm looking forward seeing yours ;)

Your husband is a good friend of the Leopard Slugs and Ground Beetles! Now he just needs a T-shirt that says that, lol! ; )

hahahahhahaha
Perhaps I need to make one for him :-D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62204.66
ETH 2437.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64