You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tales From The Tomerosa: A Tomato Variety Review

There are so, so many tomato varieties! I agree with you that any tomato is better than no tomato. It sounds like Stupice is one that really fits your conditions. Do they bear all season long (indeterminate) or do they have one main crop that you harvest (determinate)? Good on you for saving seed, too! I hope you are enjoying some summer tomatoes in winter, too - dried, canned, or frozen. : )

Sort:  

There are! I try to grow at least a couple new tomato varieties every year. Stupice is an indeterminate tomato. I probably should have mentioned that;o)! It almost seems determinate sometimes because it's not a very tall plant, but boy, it keeps on yielding fruit. It fits in well around here as I tend to grow a variety of everything: Indeterminate, determinate, open pollinated, heirloom, hybrid, pear, beefsteak, etc. Can you tell that I like tomatoes?:o) Every September I tend to can so many tomatoes that I swear I am never going to grow or can anything ever again. Only to start again the following spring, yay! I hope that you are enjoying preserved garden tastiness too!

Haha. That sounds like a gardener who preserves their produce! By the end of the season, we are whipped sometimes, by all the abundance. I dehydrate some tomatoes, I can most of them, I freeze some in an act of desperation, and I let the green ones from the last harvest ripen slowly. I still have some tomatoes getting ripe. I don't think I'll make it to the end of January like last year, but I think I will have tomatoes for salads through December, though. Go, tomatoes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 58961.27
ETH 2500.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45