You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Problems with Growing Cauliflower

I've grown some good no-additives cauliflower in past years. The key for me has been cauliflower that has never seen stress. It seems like cauliflower will form a head way too early and small, if they have been stressed in any way.

Sort:  

Like cabbage looper and slug stress.

That will do it, too. I can keep the loopers and slugs at bay, usually. For me, it's heat and not watering enough. I look at the leaves for looper eggs and just wipe them off. That cuts down the problem really fast.

Some of the best cauliflower I've ever grown is in the fall but that doesn't always work out either. I'm keeping my fingers crossed for this year.

Good luck with your cauliflower! Fall gardens can be the easiest gardens. I'm putting in corn in the next week or so, here in western Oregon. People think it's too late, but I don't get any ear worms or other insect damage at all. I just use a short-season variety and it gets moving to finish its business before the day-length gets too short.

I'm going to try snow peas for the fall. Probably plant tomorrow.

It's nice that we can grow so many things in a fall garden. Happy planting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64071.08
ETH 2763.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66