You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Follow My Experiment Log on Planting Chestnuts and Walnuts From Seeds

in #gardening8 years ago (edited)

Good luck with your planting! It will be interesting to see your results. I have English walnuts that come up around in my yard because squirrels plant them, whole, in the shell. The nuts sit out in the compost or under leaves all winter and then I find the sprouts in the spring. The same works for hazelnuts, too. My dad plants black walnuts by letting his walnuts sit in the shell, in a pile of compost, too. But it takes a couple years for the moisture and hormones to get them to sprout. They have some chestnuts, too - that they keep cut back into a bush, and they harvest plenty every year. Nuts are worth growing! :D

This is like the #foraging that was in @papa-pepper's post about finding wild asparagus seed. When you were harvesting these nuts, did you see yourself as a gardener or as a forager? If you want to use the #foraging tag, I'd be happy to recommend this for SteemTrail curation.

Sort:  

@haphazard-hstead - thank you would definitely use that tag next time :) curator on my tail ha ha :D I love it!

chestnuts in a pile of compost -

Thank you, would hid that advice, too , so they would take some months I see, luckily we don't have squirrels nor rodents around am just worried about magpies. I would definitely repot in compost instead thank you for that wonderful advice, and the hope that I could just cut them into bushes yet they won't mind. Was worrying about that .

Nuts to you -- in a good way! ; )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68244.61
ETH 2640.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69