Touring Frinklepod Farm in Maine! Incredible Flowers & Veggies...

in #gardening7 years ago

20170924_134800.jpg

Hey everyone! I was just in Maine for a wedding with my cousin @ucsdsu and his girlfriend @mintpaperplane and let's just say I had my fair share of cider...

But more importantly, I stumbled across an organic farm that I thought you all needed to see on Steemit!

So, let me take you on a little tour of Frinklepod Farm in Maine, a cut flower and veggie farm that's certified organic!

First, here's a look at one half of the farm. Most of what you see here is cut flower farming, with a new indoor microgreen building going up in the background (also doubles as a test kitchen):

20170924_134723.jpg

Here's a peek through the farm stand window at the other side of the farm - this is almost entirely veggies:

20170924_141043.jpg

The Propagation Greenhouse

Next, we have the propagation greenhouse, where they're starting all kinds of stuff:

20170924_141536.jpg

First off, some type of onion:

20170924_141604.jpg

Next, probably some kind of celery based on the leaf structure:

20170924_141611.jpg

Further into the greenhouse, I stumbled upon a hot house where they're extending the summer season a bit and growing some awesome stuff.

First, HUGE yellow peppers:

20170924_141718.jpg

Next, an awesome striped eggplant variety:

20170924_141635.jpg

The Flower Selection

I'm not usually a flower guy, but being on Steemit and seeing some of the awesome flower macro shots has really opened up my eyes. So here are a few I found beautiful.

The first one, and one of my personal favorites, is green dianthus:

20170924_134826.jpg

Next, I think these are black eyed susans? You tell me:

20170924_134926.jpg

I'm not even sure what this one is, so help me out guys and girls:

20170924_140433.jpg

The Vegetables

Now we're getting to one of my favorite things - growing veggies! Let's kick it off with a MOUNTAIN of onions that are all laid out post-harvest:

20170924_140615.jpg

Then, a simple (but elegant) row of leaf lettuce:

20170924_140657.jpg

Finally, a nice tray of kale starts:

20170924_141545.jpg

The Farmstand

Before I wrap it up with a few fun photos of us at the farm, I figured I'd show you some of what they sell. The most interesting thing about their farmstand is that they package up vegetables and bunch them with custom recipes, so their customers can cook everything perfectly and don't have to know how to cook everything themselves. This probably increases their sales quite a bit!

Here's an overview of some of their produce for sale that day:

20170924_141000.jpg

Next, we have a beautiful selection of squash varieties:

20170924_141254.jpg

Here was one of my favorites - husk cherries. Have you ever heard of these? They're like tiny tomatillos and have a similar texture, but a much sweeter taste! Highly recommend you hunt some of these down:

20170924_141338.jpg

Fun at Frinklepod Farm

@ucsdsu's girlfriend @mintpaperplane is new to Steemit and is going to do her introductory post soon, but here's a sneak preview of some of the shots we took for the post:

20170924_135032.jpg

And here's @ucsdsu washing off a few HUGE carrots that he bought as a mid-day snack for the drive back to Boston to the airport.

20170924_141359.jpg


The inspiration for this post today comes from these Steemers:

  • @ctrl-alt-nwo - I am continually inspired by his / her daily farm pictures and equipment explanations.
  • @g-dubs - Fantastic person to follow for crypto and alt-coin breakdowns!

Thanks For Reading!

If this is your first time reading my writing, thank you!

My name is Kevin and I run a website called Epic Gardening, where it is my goal to teach 1,000,000 people how to garden. Now that I've found Steemit, I'm going all in on this community and sharing as much as I can here. You'll find me writing about gardening, business, health, and philosophy - I can't seem to stick to one topic :P

Thanks and happy Steeming,

af.png

Kevin

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @halcyondaze to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

I really liked your post! I subscribe to you.
Picture just super!

Thank you for the kind words!

Where in Maine is this? It looks like a great place to visit.

Located in Arundel, Maine. Near Kennenbunkport (I think I spelled that right :p).

Thanks for reading!

~ Kevin

That there is a zinnia! Hadn't grown them until this year but they're GREAT. So will be doing a lot more in coming years also to sell as cutting flowers.

Oh nice, I'm sure you'll do well with cut flowers in your area!

Didn't do too well this year because I was kidding myself about a sunny border....it's actually shade so all the cut flowers I planted were dismal! Ha. Next year, new spot. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58430.35
ETH 2623.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42