The Atrium Part 2 - A few Stunning additions that I couldn't wait to post here!

in #gardening7 years ago

Flowers blooming, the winter sun is shining!





One of my first posts on Steemit was about a current hobby of mine, Orchids and Indoor plants in general. My housemate and I have stepped it up a gear and the atrium is starting to fill out and come to life with some really amazing colors and textures! I hope you enjoy!



Colmanara Wildcat 'Bobcat' (Odontonia Rustic Bridge x Odontocidium Crowborough)





20170711_103706.jpg

Above: The right 3 shelves are various Cymbidium Orchids, many have spikes, a few almost ready to bloom! They enjoy the sunny north facing windows. (I am in the Southern Hemisphere.) The top left shelf has mostly Oncidiums and Dendrobiums, a few flowers coming from them as well, pretty soon this whole shelf will be popping with colors.


Left: We love sitting on the couch to read or take in a little green from time to time 😉


Below: I like to use a variety of pots of many colors and textures, I like to be creative in what I use, such as the elephant (pictured) I found in hard rubbish. I removed the top and drilled some holes for drainage. I also found an amazing piece of drift wood on the beach a few years ago. I feel it goes beautifully, strapped to the shelves and with baskets hanging and air plants growing from it.

20170711_141602.jpg




Right: When I was gifted a 6 pack of beer I was more excited about the packaging and its potential. I plan to convert it into a proper hanging pot once the right plants mature enough to go in there




Here are some of the flowers we have blooming so far!









These 3 beauties are all from the Phalaenopsis group of orchids. Phalaenopsis will flourish inside under normal lighting conditions, with indirect sunlight. They are easily over watered, leading to root rot, this is a common problem for many who are given these plants.
















The below flower is from the Paphiopedilum group of Orchid, commonly known as the Venus Slipper or Lady Slipper Orchid. They only grow one flower per stem but they make up for a lack quantity with their outstanding quality!



Paphiopedilum Magic Francis x Red Bank








The final 3 images are from the Oncidium Alliance, a broad and amazing group of orchids.


To the right we have the Colmanara Wildcat 'Bobcat' which is a hybrid of 3 members of the Oncidium alliance; Miltonia, Odontoglossum and Oncidium.


The bellow photo's are of another type of Oncidium commonly known as the Dancing Lady, these are a smaller orchid but grow vigorously and fill out their pots, they produce an amazing number of these spectacularly detailed but small flowers!











I really hope you enjoyed a tour of my orchid and indoor plant collection. There will be updates to come as more amazing little flowers pop up in the coming months.

DQmV9tUCRbr3Gj3efSCm8T9aj4gS5VFpjcNxggLPRZxug6x.gif

Sort:  

Wow, Different color of orcid....very beautiful .

Thanks, always buying more, spending too much hehe :)

Bravo! I love the room layout and the lady slipper shots are fantastic.

Thanks :)

Actually the layout is very important to me, something I am constantly fussing over. We need more room for plants so considering removing the couch and replacing with bean bags in the middle for more wall shelf space lol.

We are a bit obsessed :)

Thanks again!

Thanks :) Appreciate the nice words, will check you're blog out :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by gummybadger from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Good collection of plants and flowers. Nice photography!

Thanks :) We are obsessed haha :)

Congratulations @gummybadger! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

@kalemandra

I would love you to have a look at this, I feel it is something you would appreciate :)

I found it! That is a lovely collection :) Love the Paph! I have only one young Pinocchio alba and we will see how he is doing in my place. But those dark ones are gorgeous!

For a second I forgot that You are in Australia and the sunny north facing window got me by surprise :p
I love Australian Dendrobims. I got one Speciosum few months ago. Cant wait to see it bloom (which might take a while...)

I also love the leaves on the Paph, their mottled green makes them so interesting.

Hope you get some Dend flowers soon, I will be sure to include our Dend flowers in the next post :)

My one is just green. No pattern on them.

I read that the Speciosum might take few years to bloom... and my one is still a baby. But it's already cute!
Looking forward to your Dens.

beautiful, i like it your post

You truly do have an amazing display of colors there! Beautiful photos.

Thanks ;) I do love color and plants are a passion so it is a good match i think :)
Love your post on caterpillars, I have upvoted and resteemed it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68031.50
ETH 3788.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68