🌱to💰• Growing Money In Your Yard Series • {pt1} • Learn the Laws, Plan & PreparesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

If you have a garden then grow some money!

ImageText

You want to turn your property into a money maker, so you need to prepare. It will require some essential skills and knowledge in order to truly realize success. If you missed the introduction and synopsis of this series, you may find that below:


🌱to💰- Growing Money In Your Yard Series - {Introduction & Synopsis}


I want to share some insight on how I have established a tomato business and how others can, and should, do the same. Grow money right where you are!

This is the first part of a new series 🌱to💰- Growing Money In Your Yard Series, which will be an extensive course for gardeners that wish to monetize their skills and grow sellable produce for market. There is money to be made on fresh produce, but somebody has to grow it!

If you are already gardening and growing your own food, this series will help fill in some missing elements that can get you growing for market and making money by doing something you love.

WHAT ARE THE REQUIREMENTS?

  • own land / growing space/ lease or renting space you may use
  • have experience gardening (preferably several years - you're growing food your community will eat..)
  • have resources / some working capital (not much, but some is better than none)
  • time to allocate to your business
  • tools, materials, equipment necessary to cultivate and maintain your garden / growing area

If you do not meet these basic requirements, don't worry. However, this course is intended to help those already active in growing and have some basic necessities to work with.


*Note that I am in the U.S. and this article might not be applicable to your laws & restrictions outside of the U.S.

You can make money growing food.



I will be continuing to share information that will go further in depth into how you can achieve the above criteria. This article is geared toward those that are best prepared to go to market, but please follow along and stay tuned for more content that will help beginners and experts alike. The more we know, the more we grow!

Mind the Flaming Hoops & Hurdles

In order to proceed, we first need to 'run the gauntlet' (for those who remember American Gladiators from 90s tv). And believe me, it doesn't matter where you live - there is bureaucracy involved. How much? Well, that does depends on where you live.

It can sure feel like this...



You will need to research your local & state laws. I can help to guide you with resources, but it varies so much that it's impossible for me to do that for you - you know your surroundings better than I.

Here are some helpful links to navigate the law. I can't stand the thought of trying to explain something that in most cases is simply ridiculous and impossible. I'm not a lawyer, so please consult one or browse the references below:

Growing Your Own Food - Keep It Legal

Starting a Farm - USDA - Agricultural Law


Make sure you check every branch of government - they all seem to conflict in more ways than one. I have consulted with law professionals and agriculture law experts - no one can give you answers to "HOW TO FOLLOW THE LAWS" when it comes to farming. There is a huge lack of communication between legislators and all of the agencies. The best advice I can give is to do what I did; research as much law as you can surrounding what it is your business will do. Consulting a lawyer might very well be the best advice I can give regarding the law. I am not a lawyer and do not understand the laws (I'm not even sure the fools that wrote them do either!). Best to play it safe.

You'll also need to consider:

    • what scale of operation are you planning to run?
    • what are the State & local laws & what is permitted?
    • are there any permits required?

"Processing" food in most cases will require additional licenses (and of course fees), inspections, and must be obtained and renewed annually. The federal laws often times conflict with state law from my experience. So, this is certainly grey area that is confusing - do not let it scare you - that is what it is meant to do; deter you.


How to Start a Food Business - FDA


There's always a way when the laws are so ambiguous.


Federal and state governments classify "Processessed" food differently. In my state, Maryland, processing a tomato could mean something as simple as removing the stem after the fruit has been picked from the plant! I would need to pay to have my kitchen inspected in order to "process" my produce - in theory of the law. When I remove my tomatoes from the vine, I leave the stems short or twist them off. Problem averted.



RIGHT TO FARM


All 50 states have some sort of Right to Farm laws enacted. These laws protect qualifying farmers from nuisance lawsuits.


"All fifty states have enacted right-to-farm laws that seek to protect qualifying farmers and ranchers from nuisance lawsuits filed by individuals who move into a rural area where normal farming operations exist, and who later use nuisance actions to attempt to stop those ongoing operations. While the overall statutory schemes might be similar, each state has noticeably different content in the specific details of the laws. States’ Right-to-Farm Statutes provides the statutory text of each state’s laws, along with the date of its possible expiration. The primary aim of this compilation is to provide the researcher with easy and free access to a state’s statutory language." via ​nationalaglawcenter.org

Click Here to VIEW YOUR State Right To Farm Laws

I don't just talk about it, I DO IT.


As I write this, I am caring for two toddlers AND running two businesses. One of my businesses - a small scale tomato farm that provides fresh, local produce. I love to sell produce because there is no tax to the consumer for the product I sell, I provide a great service for my community, and I'm able to use my skills to benefit my family in many ways.


Monetary gain is always great, but being self-sufficient and having the ability to feed my family with or without money is the greatest reward. Having people rave about your produce and become loyal customers - is another exciting bonus!

Making people happy and helping them to provide healthy food for their own families is incredibly rewarding. That's why I wish to share this experience and knowledge so that more people can feel the same fulfillment and joy that I feel.

We just sold 50 lbs of tomatoes in under 2 hours. Off the vine and in someone's dinner hours later. You cannot get that from the grocery store! Or wait, can you? People are willing to drive to us to get their tomatoes and we even meet them at the grocery store! I know, that's really smart. Especially considering we were already headed there when we meet them. We do not even have a produce stand or retail location. I wouldn't have time for that anyhow​. Not to mention, good food sells fast! No need to wait around for business.


Please feel free to ask questions!


This is only the beginning of the series and once we navigate through the black waters of legislation and have jumped all the flaming hurdles - we will be focusing on getting down to business!


Learning the laws that pertain to you is something I highly advise doing. There is no reason to risk losing your freedom or property because you were ill-informed about the laws. The judge will have no pity on those who do not know the law, as it is expected of us. I agree ​it can be nearly impossible to understand, but ask a professional should you have any legal questions. I'm just a plant-whisperer 😎


Sort:  

I'm dying over here after that American Gladiators video! Totally forgot about that show, one of my favorites as a kid.

Over here ready to take some notes on gardening bud!

Haha yea that was one of my favs as a kid too @liberty-minded. The "Gauntlet" was hilarious because it always seemed like some were 'allowed' to pass and you could tell who they didn't like..Cuz they got the shit kicked outta them..LOL

I've been working on the series all weekend and the next part will focus on How to identify profitable growing opportunities and I'm jamming a bunch more relevant stuff in there. Looking like there will be at least 8-9 more parts, so hopefully I can really get some readers growing money in their yards.

Thanks for your support man! Truly appreciate it. When I can get to my desk, I've got a present for ya! Just a neat little thing we do to recognize #libertyprofessionals like yourself 😉🔥🚀

How do you advertise? I'm guessing that will be in another future part though.

Can you "barter" the veges and not be limited under the same laws, so it is only when you "sell" them for cash that the restrictions apply?

I'm currently brewing mead for example, and I would never sell it. However, I could give it away as a gift perhaps. LOL Man, the laws are stupid these days...


You might need the advanced course @finnian, Advertising will be in the coming sections 😉

It can be tricky. Some states actually have laws against barter and trade. My state treats it as income regardless - and you are responsible to have objects of trade "valued" by an expert..LOL Depends on the local laws too. It's impossible to actually know for sure without being a practicing attorney. I've asked legal assistants & experts IN THE TOP ACADEMIC PROGRAM IN THIS STATE - you'll never two answers alike. It is truly asinine.

I'm absolutely shock that it is so jacked up. Shocked! ;-)

Haha no you're not..😋
It is also important to make sure there is NO HOA (homeowners association) where you live if trying to grow produce. In some states, they can actually put a lean against your home - that's bad!

Ugh, HoA's... Any time someone talks about loving the government, I always bring up HoA's. People hate them for good reasons, but then they think a much larger and more powerful committee will not trample your liberty. /boggle

Yes, exactly! My wife and I rented a place, in a nice little neighborhood, back when we were in High school. She graduated almost a year early and I was going to classes until 11am, then work. We had neighbors that hated us because we moved in and weren't their age. This one guy would cut his grass in the morning and report my lawn by the end of the day for being too high. LOL I was 17 going to school and working, my wife in college and working - non one else around to cut grass 'on command'. This guy would shovel the snow off his lawn - into the street - after the plow would come through. Nobody said a word. HOA president was a pal of his. Ha!

I saw a neighbor put up a playground for their kids and HOA came and caution taped it off - demanded the removal. In a backyard with no view from the street - anonymous complaint.. One house in line of sight.. Passive aggressive neighbors love HOA. I prefer to keep my neighbors happy..LOL I love not having to worry about that anymore!!

Resteeming now but I'll read later. It's looks like it's gonna be good one though. 👍

Awesome Idea! Bravo! My only complaint... I missed the boat and can't resteem this now :( see you along the way!
@ecoknowme

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61449.43
ETH 3372.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51