What I've Been up to This Week in the Vegetable Gardens

in #gardening6 years ago

Big garden - all planted2 crop June 2018.jpg
Big garden all planted

This has been a very hard week here on the farm. We’ve been dealing with a major family crisis. Just not enough energy to get posts up for 3 days.

But I did manage to get the vegetable gardens all planted with my helper friend.

Here’s how things are doing in the vegetable gardens:

Big garden - potaotes crop June 2018.jpg
Potato bed

Big garden - garlic crop June 2018.jpg
Garlic

Big garden - onions crop June 2018.jpg
Onions

Big garden - Swiss chard crop June 2018.jpg
Swiss chard

Big garden - artichokes crop June 2018.jpg
Artichokes

Big garden - kale crop June 2018.jpg
Kale

Big garden - brassicas crop June 2018.jpg
Brassicas

Big garden - planting tomatoes and peppers crop June 2018.jpg
Planting tomatoes and peppers

Big garden - planting lima beans crop June 2018.jpg
Planting lima beans

Big garden - all planted3 crop June 2018.jpg
Big garden all planted

Small garden - all planted1 crop June 2018.jpg

The small garden had parsnips seeded and squash, cukes, and pumpkins planted.

I could not finish the mulching because the family crisis prevented us from bringing in mulch.

Sort:  

Looks very well mulched already what do you use? Some sort of straw? Must really cut down on weeding and watering.

I never use straw, it simply does not do the job and is dangerous when wet. That is all mulch hay. In most places it should be a bit deeper, but alas, we've not been able to bring in mulch this week.

It cuts down on weeding dramatically if done properly. I also water a lot less. But mostly, it feeds the biology in the soil and adds organic matter.

Hmm I always heard straw was better than hay because hay tends to be seedy. What is the danger of straw?

Hay is only seedy if it is not applied correctly. I've been using it exclusively since 1993.

Straw is VERY slippery when it gets wet. At my age, falling is not an option...

Good too know. I have used both hay and straw before but don't have a ton of experience with either.

Congratulations @goldenoakfarm your post had been selected for an upvote worth ~$1.87 as part of the @ecoTrain minnow support project.

I hope this encourages you to keep writing amazing posts and making this world a better place!. I hope your family crisis resolves ;-(




JOIN US ON DISCORD
https://discord.gg/XwAmRWW

Your vegetable plot ia coming along really well!! Looking very lush

It is doing well this year, even with the late start due to a very cold April.

I've yet to get all my peppers in the ground, but they're doing okay in their pots and will be planted in the next day or two.

Wishing I had a helper!

I hope everything's okay with you and yours. 🙏

Hope everything turns out ok with your family crisis. Your garden looks a lot better than mine does.

It doesn't look like things are going to improve re: crisis. Just doing damage control is only option...

The mulching helps a lot in the veg and Herb gardens. There's none in the flowerbeds, so there's a LOT of weeding.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61240.20
ETH 3247.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45