Sort:  

I never use straw, it simply does not do the job and is dangerous when wet. That is all mulch hay. In most places it should be a bit deeper, but alas, we've not been able to bring in mulch this week.

It cuts down on weeding dramatically if done properly. I also water a lot less. But mostly, it feeds the biology in the soil and adds organic matter.

Hmm I always heard straw was better than hay because hay tends to be seedy. What is the danger of straw?

Hay is only seedy if it is not applied correctly. I've been using it exclusively since 1993.

Straw is VERY slippery when it gets wet. At my age, falling is not an option...

Good too know. I have used both hay and straw before but don't have a ton of experience with either.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61420.98
ETH 3276.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47