You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Take a walk with me around the homestead! ❀❀

in #gardening6 years ago

It's so lovely! I really like the diversity.

Has the netting been really effective? Back when I used row covering for this, if it was not tight to the ground and had NO openings, they got in anyways...

My helper told me he saw some potato bugs yesterday, so I must go pick them and look for eggs....

Sort:  

I go out every morning and squish those eggs. I think there are only a few potato bugs left but they are really hiding from me ...I guess they saw what I did to their friends (lol). I read some tricks for preventing them that I will try next year. I forgot to do it this year and we got bugs (of course). Every time I plant potatoes it's in a new spot that has never ever grown food before so they must be travelling quite a distance!

YES! For me the netting works really well. The moment the plants go into the ground I cover them well. I use insect netting and also have a bolt of tulle (that stuff they use for weddings) and both work. I've never liked the row cover they sell for gardening because it obscures the plants so I have to take it off and I am sure at that moment a moth comes and hides where I can't see it. .... I can water right through the netting and it does not weight the plants down so it stays on the whole time!

I tuck in the sides and use rocks to pin it down (needs fixing today we had some big winds last night) so they can't fly under. It's the only thing that's ever worked for me.

Thank you and hello. It seems like forever since we've chatted. I'll pop by your page tonight before bed to catch up on reading! :)

It does seem like forever! I've missed your frequent posts!

I have managed to figure out the GHS Collective Discord channel! Maybe I'll see you there, also.

That tulle does seem like an improvement over row cover.

I just learned about and joined that channel yesterday - It seems like I missed a lot in my short absence!! I am such a nerd. I never know how to jump in on a chat ...not to mention discord flickers in and out on me all the time because our internet sucks.

I just say, hi everyone, then either comment on what's going or remain silent. :))

At least here, my connection is steady, so I don't have to deal with that.

Sorry for the delay, @walkerland, but here's your second comment upvote as a reward for the gardening journal challenge.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77