Looking for Your Garden Layouts - Existing or Planned

in #gardening6 years ago

A contest by @offgrid-online:

New Herb garden crop May 2018.jpg
New Herb garden May 2018

The New Herb garden was designed and created in May 2016. The main purpose for the garden was to provide sufficient herbs and flowers for dehydrating for the layer flock in the winter months.

The original plan had shallow rooted plants on the south end and ones with deeper roots on the north end. That’s pretty much gone by the wayside now.

This year it was more like having the culinary herbs closer to the house and the medicinal farther down the garden. I put flowers all through it for the pollinators, no real reason one in a place over another.

New Herb garden - echinacea crop July 2017.jpg
Echinacea July 2017

Some, like the yarrow, echinacea, and bee balm are perennials and so they were put there the first year and remain. Many of the herbs this year, like santolina or lavender, are ones that were in the original herb garden by the house and died out. I wanted to try to grow them again.

The lower edge of the first photo is the north end, down by the fence the south end. It gets pretty much full sun all day. In the plan below, the top of the plan is the north end.

The plan for it can be found here: https://steemit.com/gardening/@goldenoakfarm/new-herb-garden-s-plan-2018

New Herb garden - thyme1 crop July 2017.jpg
Thyme July 2017

The culinary herbs I grow in this garden are:

Ginger
Chives
Garlic Chives
Oregano
Marjoram
Bunching onions
French Tarragon
Thyme
Sage
Pineapple sage
Rosemary

Many of these I grow for us, but the ones bug damaged go to the chickens, if they will eat them.

New Herb garden - hoophouse and ginger crop June 2017.jpg

The ginger gets its own little hoophouse because it does not like to be below 60F. It’s only had 3 or 6 plants in it in the past years, but this year I’m hoping to get 10 into a larger house.

New Herb garden - balsam2 crop Aug. 2017.jpg
Balsam August 2017

There are a lot of flowering plants or flowers in the garden to attract pollinators:

Balsam
Thyme
Yarrow
Echinacea
Heliotrope
Stocks
Canterbury bells
German Chamomile
Bee balm
Calendula
Borage
Butterflyweed

New Herb garden - rows 6, 7A wormwood crop July 2017.jpg
Wormwood July 2017

The rest have medicinal properties of various sorts. Some are pest repellants, like southernwood, wormwood, or pennyroyal. These I dry and use in the cedar closet to repel clothes moths/pests.

Der_Zitronenstrauch,_Aloysia_citrodora,_Verbenaceae,_Zitronenverbene,_Habitus_crop 04.jpg

Lemon verbena is one of my favorite scents, so that’s why I grow that.

So that’s my relatively new herb garden and why I plant what I do where I do.

Credit:
Lemon verbena - @ Plenuska Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 4.0 International

Sort:  

Thank you for the post of your new herb garden layout - amazing pictures of the mature herbs in your gardens. Lemon verbena is one of my favorite scents too - the lemon scent is so strong and sweet with verbena. Excellent for herbal tea, lemon verbena has a natural sweetening component that does not effect blood sugar - like stevia :) Lemon Catnip also has a nice lemon smell, smells like candy, and the tea is relaxing (for humans :)

I have never heard of lemon catnip. I am intrigued! My second thought: What will my geriatric cat say about lemon catnip...You know, all catnip is HERS! :))

I love my lemon verbena, and I'm pleased it grew well in a corner of my garden. Love you herb garden - fantastic!!! My garden is so different from yours - I'll have to get out there and show my layout too! I forgot about that, thanks for the reminder!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55425.80
ETH 2363.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34