A Gardening Book Review

in #gardening7 years ago

And A Microgreen Update Too!


Basil Babies!

We have a lovely little blizzard thing going on outside here in North Idaho. I have this strange feeling that I won't be seeing much of the ground til toward the end of the month, so instead of rolling around in my soil and compost like a hog that hit the fermented apples hard; I must instead satiate my gardening-want-to-woes in other ways.


See the moose tracks? The poor creatures probably press their frozen forms against the side of my abode at night for fleeting bit of warmth. The full form embrace of such a toasty feeling a memory long forgotten.


I can't even remember what bluebirds and Sitka Roses look like....


This poor hyssop plant is on Stand By

First, after snapping a few pictures of the frozen wasteland that is my backyard, I came in and took a few psyche-reaffirming pics of my almost ready microgreens. I am going to make a big batch of homemade tomato soup and launch a few of the basil babies in there for bit of flavor-explosion. That should get me through at least two more weeks of snow, ice, and mud!

Another diversion for this garden-labor deprived girl is provided at the library. There are some really neat reports that I can run on the library catalog. One of them gives me all of the new titles that our collection folks have put into the catalog, and of course I put holds on any interesting looking garden-related tomes. Hello work perks!

I mentioned this book in my microgreen post:

Here is my take on its contents.

So, the actual title of the book is: Indoor Edible Garden: Creative Ways to Grow Herbs, Fruit, and Vegetables In Your Home. Wow! That was a mouthful! The author's name is Zia Allaway, and one thing I will give Zia is that she is incredibly thorough and creative.

The first whole section of this indoor edible garden primer covers planning. There are floor plan renderings that outline the different growing "zones" typically available in one's abode. They are classified by light and heat availability. There were no explanations pertaining to harassment by pet and children "zones", but overall, I really enjoyed the focus on where you could grow what based on underutilized space that we all have available to us in our houses, no matter the home size.

The rest of the how-to-do-indoor-food book was cleverly divided into the following chapters: Herbs and Edible Flowers, Sprouts, Leaves, and Roots, Fruiting Vegetables, Fruit, and the super important last one: Experts' Tips.

There were a couple of projects in the book that really stood out to me:

The first was, "Edible Orchids Mounted Onto Bark"

Talk about bringing the outdoors in! This project was not only pretty, but functional as well! I've ate my share of nasturtiums sprinkled in my salads over the years, but I had absolutely no idea that,

Dendrobiums are a group of edible orchids that taste like a mixture of cucumber and kale.

Sign me up! I'll totally take my kitchen looking like an Ent's backside!

Another project from the book that completely tickled me was the, "Create A Tabletop For Spicy Asian Greens." I love spicy things, but I'm not too sure about cutting holes in my kitchen table and sticking stainless steel containers in the resulting cavern. Don't get me wrong, it looks super cool and functional, but I don't think it would work at my house. Instead of serving Asian greens; I feel like feline Tootsie rolls would be offered at that buffet.

Also, I absolutely died when I read this disclaimer:

Before sawing, check the width of the lip on the containers to ensure they won't fall through the table.

There so has to be a story there.

Seriously though, if you are looking for a very thorough how-to book that will give you a useful overview of how to turn your home into an indoor edible food oasis, look no further than Indoor Edible Gardens by Zia Allaway. You'll have pots and containers of everything from lemon trees to mushrooms adorning every available surface in your lovely abode!

And as always, all of the images in this post were taken by the author, on her bleepity-bleep snow dusted iPhone.

Sort:  

Hello @generikat,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If you wish to not receive comments from SteemTrail, please reply with "Stop" to opt out.

Happy TRAIL!

Thank you:)!

Very cool stuff! I've been propagating all day down here!

Oh! I so want to feel envy, but I am going to go with joy and happiness on your behalf! That's awesome!

What be ye propagating? I have to propagate a couple hundred lavender plants this May, can't wait!

WOW! A couple hundred lavender plants... perhaps another trade could be in order.

Today was pruning Concord grapes and propagating the cuttings, plus some elderberries after I was done with the grapes. Then, my son and I found this guy when cutting Elderberries.

LOL! He looks only slightly annoyed! Dang though, you guys got a close up! I kind of want to know if he kissed the camera?!

I have 300 mother lavender plants, I am sure that I can spare some cuttings 😉

Thanks for your post. I will have to check out the book. I do have to say you have a load of snow. I live in northern PA where our average snowfall is over 100" a season and so far this winter we have not even come close to that.

Thanks for dropping by! It's not uncommon for us to get over 100" of snow too, and we so blew by the century mark this year. There's even quite a bit more in the forecast! I just got spoiled the last couple of "little snow" winters. It sounds like it's your turn in that department!

That book was interesting, I sure hope you enjoy it!

I had no idea about edible orchids, either. That deserves some more research -- and probably growing some orchids, lol. That's it - a whole farm of food orchids. We will see it on the restaurant menus any day now! At least the long winter will help keep the aphids and grasshoppers in check!

I didn't even know that was a thing either! Definitely going to be some experimentation going on in the edible orchid department! Hmm...I have watched a lot of British tv though, and those orchids seem to bring out the dark side in some folks, but I'm going to go for it anyway! They are lovely to look at and worst case scenario I'll have some interesting tales to tell, lol!

And I so agree about the long winter helping in the insect out-of-balance department. I know I'll later appreciate the frozen intervention in the aphid, grasshopper, locust, tick, and yellow jacket populations for us all.

Hey just discovered @generikat ... and I really like your writing style ... and all that snow just makes me envious. upvoted and followed ...

Well, thank you for the kind words @themagus! I might have felt similar envy when I pondered the blissful warmth that you must be enjoying in your neck of the woods!

I actually don't mind the snow, but this winter has been extra plentiful in that department, as we are well over 100 inches and counting so far for the season. When March rolls around my form wants to be out cultivating things!

Thank you again for the follow, I wandered over to your most excellent blog and followed you in return! 😊

Thank you for the positive feedback. As regards temperatures..40 degrees celsius (around 104 fahrenheit...I too lazy to do the maths) day in and day out is rather more than my internal temperature control can handle. Also that lovely snow of yours translates into WATER.. yes beautiful H2O ...{sob} .. something we are in dire need of... bucketing out of the sky would be nice.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57346.65
ETH 3107.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40