Wildcrafted Medicine: The Magnificent Healing Properties of the Common "Weed" YELLOW DOCK

in #gardening8 years ago

Every aspect of life is better when you feel good and healthy! 

Nature herself crafts the best medicine. To encourage your happy healing, we offer a wealth of information on the super natural healing powers of plants, herbs, and common "weeds". We seek to reacquaint you with our roots and reintroduce these incredible plants to your diet and medicine chest! 

We now present YELLOW DOCK for your consideration:







We have a special treat for you, too: later today, we'll share a food formula from our collection for

DOCK AND CORN CAKE TOWERS!


Enjoy our previous Wildcrafted Medicine posts:

Dandelion / Calendula / Lamb's Quarter / Henbit / Carolina Geranium / Oregano


If you are interested in accessing the epic power of plants, we offer beyond organic, super sustainable tea and cannabis-free smoking blends of our abundant, hardy herbs for your pleasure!


www.intothegardenofeden.com


Sources:
http://www.globalhealingcenter.com/natural-health/benefits-of-yellow-dock-root/http://doctorschar.com/yellow-dock-rumex-crispus/https://jonbarron.org/herbal-library/herbs/yellow-dock-roothttp://www.cloverleaffarmherbs.com/yellow-dock/


Sort:  

Here's a delicious FOOD FORMULA for YELLOW DOCK:
DOCK and CORN CAKE TOWERS

Like
I really Like This
Steemon Fellow Steemian!!

If it hadn't been for this post, I would have considered this plant a weed to be pulled... Thank you for enlightening me! :-)

You're welcome! We're happy to share our wisdom!

Wow, I hadn't even seen this one when I commented on your food post! Nice work!

Yes!
I love how each of those post make the other one better!
So glad you noticed. A smart and observant man!

awesome

Would love to see a "top ten 'weeds' that grow around DFW that are actually magic" article from you once ten individual ones are complete. Will make a good "don't overlook these" compilation.

Yes, we have solid intentions for compilations to teach Wildcrafted Medicine in perpetuity! Thanks @snake73!

I'll give you my top 5 weeds to eat and I think they are all in the DFW area -- lambs quarter, redroot pigweed amaranth, dandelions, dock, and field mustard. I eat a lot of all of these weeds here in Oregon's Willamette Valley, but they are nearly everywhere. I've eaten them in a lot of different states in the US. They are from different plant families and have different tastes. There are a lot more great greens, but with these five, you have got a lot of good food! They are real food for regular people!

Here are their scientific names, in order, just so nobody is confused by the common names that I use: Chenopodium album, Amaranthus reflexus, Taraxacum officianale, Rumex crispus, and Brassica rapa.

Thanks for sharing, @haphazard-hstead! It's incredible how robust plants are, with many edible "weeds" able to thrive in a variety of climates and environments. That's another reason this information is so important to share!

You're welcome. There is a reason that so many of these "weeds" were carried by people moving to new areas! I like that we all have something in common, too, with these plants growing wild around our towns.

I'm always glad to see other folks that appreciate dock! I really like dock. I know it more as Curly dock rather than Yellow dock, but they are the same species, Rumex crispus. I like dock mixed with other greens when I want cooked greens. They have a smoothness and lemony flavor that really adds to other wild greens, and they don't have to be blanched like dandelion greens. So I add them after I've blanched any of the other greens.

They are a perennial, so once you see those brown seedheads this tmie of year, you know right where to go in the springtime, or even in the fall they can put on a flush of new growth as the weather cools down.

#dock #Rumex #wildfood #HHshare

I feel like i've never seen this one before. it grows in texas?

It sure does!
Once you start looking you will find it all over!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66254.46
ETH 3319.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69